WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Albert Steiner was a Swiss photographer.

Albert Steiner, the son of the master baker Christian Steiner and Albertine, née Rieder, began a photography apprenticeship with Jean Moeglé in Thun, which he completed in 1897, interrupted by a one-year employment at the Swiss Federal Ammunition Factory in Thun. In the same year Steiner took up a position with the Geneva photographer Fred Boissonnas, and the following year, after his father's death, he took over his parents' bakery. In 1901 Albert Steiner was again employed by Boissonnas, which he gave up in 1904 to take over the management of his own business at 6 rue Faller in Geneva. In 1905 he moved to Bern, where he ran a studio together with his brother Hermann.

In 1906 Steiner moved to St. Moritz, where he was initially employed by the photographer Walther Küpfer, before opening his own photo studio in 1909 and running it together with Hans Robertson from 1915 to 1919. Albert Steiner, who also ran a small portrait studio, moved into a large new studio in the former "Innfall" restaurant in 1924, which he handed over to his son Hans in 1950. Steiner, who married Helene, born in 1910 to Hirsbrunner, daughter of a travelling salesman, died in 1965 at the age of 88 in Frutigen.

Albert Steiner came to prominence in particular with landscape photographs from the Engadin, which are among the most reproduced of their time. These photographs, which satisfied the highest technical and aesthetic demands, also underpinned the image of Switzerland as an Alpine country abroad. His books were published by Emil Roniger at the Rotapfel-Verlag.

Artworks Albert Steiner

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Albert Steiner war ein Schweizer Fotograf.

Albert Steiner, der Sohn des Bäckermeisters Christian Steiner und der Albertine, geborene Rieder, begann, nachdem er eine Bäckerlehre im väterlichen Betrieb nach kurzer Zeit abgebrochen hatte, eine Fotografenlehre bei Jean Moeglé in Thun, die er, unterbrochen durch eine einjährige Beschäftigung in der Eidgenössischen Munitionsfabrik Thun, 1897 abschloss. Steiner trat im gleichen Jahr eine Stelle beim Genfer Fotografen Fred Boissonnas an, im Folgejahr übernahm er nach dem Tod seines Vaters die elterliche Bäckerei. 1901 erhielt Albert Steiner erneut eine Anstellung bei Boissonnas, die er 1904 aufgab, um an der Rue Faller 6 in Genf die Leitung eines eigenen Geschäfts zu übernehmen. 1905 zog er nach Bern um, dort führte er zusammen mit seinem Bruder Hermann ein Atelier.

1906 übersiedelte Steiner nach St. Moritz, dort war er zunächst beim Fotografen Walther Küpfer angestellt, bevor er 1909 ein eigenes Fotostudio eröffnete und dieses von 1915 bis 1919 zusammen mit Hans Robertson führte. Albert Steiner, der zusätzlich ein kleines Porträtatelier führte, bezog 1924 ein neues, grosses Atelier im ehemaligen Restaurant „Innfall“, das er 1950 seinem Sohn Hans übergab. Steiner, der 1910 Helene, geborene Hirsbrunner, Tochter eines Handelsreisenden, ehelichte, verstarb 1965 88-jährig in Frutigen.

Albert Steiner trat insbesondere durch Landschaftsaufnahmen aus dem Engadin hervor, die zu den meistreproduzierten ihrer Zeit gehören. Diese den höchsten technischen und ästhetischen Ansprüchen genügenden Aufnahmen haben das Bild der Schweiz als Alpenland auch im Ausland untermauert. Seine Bücher wurden von Emil Roniger im Rotapfel-Verlag verlegt.