WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Alberto Giacometti was a Swiss sculptor, painter and graphic artist of the modern age who lived and worked mainly in Paris since 1922. He regularly visited his native mountain valley Bergell to meet his family and to become artistically active there.

Giacometti belongs to the most important sculptors of the 20th century. His work is influenced by cubism, surrealism and the philosophical questions about the condition humaine as well as existentialism and phenomenology. Around 1935 he gave up surrealist works to devote himself to "compositions with figures". Between 1938 and 1944, the figures were a maximum of seven centimetres in size. They were intended to reflect the distance at which he had seen the model.

Giacometti's most famous works were created in the post-war period; in the extremely long, slender sculptures, the artist carried out his new experience of distance after a visit to the cinema, in which he recognised the difference between his way of seeing and that of photography and film. With his subjective visual experience, he created the sculpture not as a physical reproduction in real space, but as "an imaginary image ... in its simultaneously real and imaginary, tangible and inaccessible space".

Giacometti's painterly oeuvre was initially a smaller part of his work. After 1957, figurative painting came to take its place alongside sculpture. His almost monochrome painting of the late period cannot be assigned to any modernist style.

Artworks Alberto Giacometti

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Alberto Giacometti war ein Schweizer Bildhauer, Maler und Grafiker der Moderne, der seit 1922 hauptsächlich in Paris lebte und arbeitete. Er besuchte regelmässig das heimatliche Gebirgstal Bergell, um seine Familie zu treffen und dort künstlerisch tätig zu werden.

Giacometti gehört zu den bedeutendsten Bildhauern des 20. Jahrhunderts. Sein Werk ist vom Kubismus, Surrealismus und den philosophischen Fragen um die condition humaine sowie vom Existentialismus und von der Phänomenologie beeinflusst. Um 1935 gab er die surrealistischen Arbeiten auf, um sich den «Kompositionen mit Figuren» zu widmen. Zwischen 1938 und 1944 waren die Figuren maximal sieben Zentimeter gross. Sie sollten die Distanz wiedergeben, in der er das Modell gesehen hatte.

In der Nachkriegszeit entstanden Giacomettis bekannteste Werke; in den extrem langen, schlanken Skulpturen führte der Künstler seine neue Distanzerfahrung nach einem Kinobesuch aus, in der er den Unterschied zwischen seiner Sehweise und jener der Fotografie und des Films erkannte. Mit seiner subjektiven Seh-Erfahrung schuf er die Plastik nicht als körperhafte Nachbildung im realen Raum, sondern als «ein imaginäres Bild in ihrem gleichzeitig realen und imaginären, greifbaren und unbetretbaren Raum».

Giacomettis malerisches Œuvre war anfangs ein kleinerer Teil seines Werks. Nach 1957 trat die figurative Malerei gleichberechtigt neben die Skulptur. Seine fast monochrome Malerei der Spätzeit lässt sich keiner Stilform der Moderne zuordnen.

Kunstwerke Alberto Giacometti