WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Alois Carigiet was a Swiss painter, draughtsman, lithographer and author of children's books.

After the first years of his childhood on a farm in Trun, his family moved to Chur in 1911, where he attended the secondary and cantonal school, which Carigiet dropped out of in 1918. He completed an apprenticeship as a decorative painter and went to Zurich in 1923, where he worked in Max Dalang's advertising studio. In 1927 he was able to open his own studio where he designed stage sets and costumes for a cabaret. In 1933 he was co-founder of the Cabaret Cornichon. Alois Carigiet produced a large number of commercial graphic works from this period, such as the red cloverleaf of the National Lottery of 1937 and the poster for the Swiss National Exhibition in Zurich in 1939, after a first poster competition, which Carigiet also won, turned out unsatisfactory.

In 1939, when he was dissatisfied with his situation of having to make commissioned works as an illustrator. He changed from graphic artist to freelance artist and returned to Graubünden when he also moved to Platenga in Obersaxen. In 1942 he married and the couple had two children. In Platenga, he also worked on the illustration of children's books. The best known of these became the Schellenursli, written by Selina Chönz, which made the Engadine tradition of Chalandamarz world-famous. The following children's books such as Flurina and the Wild Bird did not quite achieve this level of fame, but are no less valuable from an artistic point of view.

Exhibitions followed in Schaffhausen, Solothurn and Geneva. In 1950 he temporarily moved again to Zurich to create the mural Allegro con Spirito in the Muraltengut, which had been bought by the city in 1944 for representational purposes. In 1956 he was commissioned by the Falken Brewery (Schaffhausen) to paint the facade of the "Schwarzer Adler" house in Stein am Rhein. In 1960 he returned to his home village in Trun and continued to dedicate himself to the illustration of books. In addition, he also wrote children's books himself.

A room in the Sursilvan Museum in Trun is dedicated to the work of Alois Carigiet. He was also the older brother of the later actor Zarli Carigiet.

Artworks Alois Carigiet

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Alois Carigiet war ein Schweizer Maler, Zeichner, Lithograf und Kinderbuchautor.

Nach den ersten Jahren der Kindheit auf einem Bauernhof in Trun zog die Familie 1911 nach Chur, wo er Sekundarschule und Kantonsschule besuchte, die Carigiet aber 1918 abbrach. Er absolvierte eine Lehre als Dekorationsmaler und ging 1923 nach Zürich, wo er im Werbeatelier von Max Dalang arbeitete. 1927 konnte er ein eigenes Atelier eröffnen, in welchem er für ein Kabarett Bühnenbilder und Kostüme entwarf. 1933 war er Mitbegründer des Cabaret Cornichon. Von Alois Carigiet stammen aus dieser Zeit eine Vielzahl von Gebrauchsgrafik-Arbeiten, etwa das rote Kleeblatt der Landeslotterie von 1937 sowie das Plakat für die Schweizerische Landesausstellung 1939 in Zürich, nachdem ein erster Plakatwettbewerb, den Carigiet ebenfalls gewann, unbefriedigend ausgefallen war.

1939, als er mit der Situation unzufrieden war, als Illustrator Auftragsarbeiten machen zu müssen, folgte der Wechsel vom Grafiker zum freischaffenden Künstler und die Rückkehr nach Graubünden, als er nach Platenga in Obersaxen umsiedelte. 1942 heiratete er, das Paar bekam zwei Kinder. Dort arbeitete er auch an der Illustration von Kinderbüchern. Am bekanntesten wurde der Schellenursli, der von Selina Chönz geschrieben und mit dem der Engadiner Brauch Chalandamarz weltbekannt wurde. Die folgenden Kinderbücher wie Flurina und das Wildvöglein erreichten nicht ganz diesen Bekanntheitsgrad, sind aber aus künstlerischer Sicht nicht weniger wertvoll.

Es folgten Ausstellungen in Schaffhausen, Solothurn und Genf. 1950 zog er zeitweilig wieder nach Zürich, um das Wandbild Allegro con Spirito im Muraltengut zu schaffen, das 1944 von der Stadt zu Repräsentationszwecken gekauft worden war. 1956 erstellte er im Auftrag der Brauerei Falken (Schaffhausen) die Fassadenmalerei am Haus «Schwarzer Adler» in Stein am Rhein. 1960 kehrte er in seine Bündner Heimat nach Trun zurück und widmete sich weiter der Illustration von Büchern. Daneben schrieb er auch selbst Kinderbücher.

Dem Schaffen von Alois Carigiet ist im Museum Sursilvan in Trun ein Raum gewidmet. Alois Carigiet war der ältere Bruder des späteren Schauspielers Zarli Carigiet.

Kunstwerke Alois Carigiet