WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Bruce Weber is a US-American photographer and film producer. He is internationally known for his advertising campaigns for Calvin Klein, the fashion company Abercrombie & Fitch and Ralph Lauren, and for his work for the magazines GQ and Rolling Stone. Weber was born in Greensburg as the son of a photographer. He probably first studied at Princeton, later he switched to Lisette Model at the New School for Social Research through Diane Arbus.

He is mainly active in the field of fashion photography; his work was first published in the late 1970s, initially in GQ magazine. In the 1980s, he became increasingly well known internationally as a photographer and gained international recognition, particularly through his fashion campaigns for Calvin Klein. Well-known photographs are black-and-white photos of an undressed heterosexual couple looking at each other on a swing, two dressed men in bed and model Marcus Schenkenberg holding his jeans naked in a shower. Weber has worked for Ralph Lauren, Abercrombie & Fitch, Volvo, Karl Lagerfeld, Versace and Dior Homme, among others. Characteristic of his work as a fashion photographer is the explosion of the genre. In Weber's photographs, the focus is on people, not so much on clothing. Accordingly, Weber is very careful in his choice of models. Many top models - especially male ones - owe their discovery to Bruce Weber. The somewhat nostalgic style of the "boy next door" was introduced into fashion photography by him. In 1998 and 2003 he designed the Pirelli calendar.

Weber was also active as a film director. He made a short film Broken Noses with young boxers2 , a two-hour documentary Let's Get Lost about the jazz trumpeter Chet Baker who was on the 2008 Cannes Film Festival's classic programme, a short film about his pet dogs, and a black-and-white film Chop Suey about his own observations of everyday life.3 His anti-war film A Letter to True was the opening film of the 2004 Berlinale, which wrote the following in its press release.

"In his film essay A Letter to True, US star photographer Bruce Weber creates a world full of longing and gratitude - a homage to a better life that his dogs remind him of. His dogs Lassie and Rintintin ... (narrators Julie Christie and Marianne Faithfull) take the viewer on a journey - the letter to favourite dog True is spoken by Bruce Weber."

For the music group Pet Shop Boys he made the videos for the singles Being boring (1990), Se a vida é (1996) and I get along (2002). In 2004 Weber made a flying visit to fashion design. He designed his own collection, but it was not followed by another. The articles of the Casual Men's Wear under the Weberbilt label are still sold in only three shops worldwide, in London, Miami and Tokyo. Weber is married to Nan Bush, with whom he also works sometimes. His work is represented, for example, in the Victoria and Albert Museum, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art and the Centre Pompidou.

Artworks Bruce Weber

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Bruce Weber ist ein US-amerikanischer Fotograf und Filmproduzent. Er ist international bekannt für seine Werbekampagnen für Calvin Klein, das Modeunternehmen Abercrombie & Fitch und Ralph Lauren sowie für seine Arbeiten für die Magazine GQ und Rolling Stone.

Weber wurde als Sohn eines Fotografen in Greensburg geboren. Er studierte vermutlich zunächst in Princeton1, später wechselte er durch Vermittlung von Diane Arbus zu Lisette Model an die New School for Social Research.

Er ist hauptsächlich im Bereich der Modefotografie tätig; seine Arbeiten erschienen in den späten 1970ern zunächst im Magazin GQ. In den 1980ern wurde er international zunehmend bekannter als Fotograf und erlangte insbesondere durch seine Modekampagnen für Calvin Klein internationale Anerkennung. Bekannte Aufnahmen sind Schwarz-Weiß-Fotos von einem sich gegenseitig anblickenden, unbekleideten heterosexuellen Paar auf einer Schaukel, zwei bekleideten Männern im Bett und vom Model Marcus Schenkenberg, der nackt seine Jeans bei einer Dusche hält. Weber arbeitete unter anderem für Ralph Lauren, Abercrombie & Fitch, Volvo, Karl Lagerfeld, Versace und Dior Homme. Charakteristisch für seine Arbeit als Modefotograf ist die Sprengung der Gattung. In Webers Fotografien steht der Mensch im Mittelpunkt, nicht so sehr die Kleidung. Entsprechend ist Weber sehr auf die Wahl der Models bedacht. Viele Top-Models – speziell männliche – verdanken ihre Entdeckung Bruce Weber. Der etwas nostalgische Stil des „Jungen von Nebenan“ wurde durch ihn in die Modefotografie eingeführt. 1998 und 2003 gestaltete er den Pirelli-Kalender.

Des Weiteren war Weber als Filmregisseur tätig. Er drehte einen Kurzfilm Broken Noses mit jungen Boxern2, einen zweistündigen Dokumentarfilm Let's Get Lost über den Jazztrompeter Chet Baker der im Jahr 2008 im Klassiker-Programm der Filmfestspiele Cannes lief, einen Kurzfilm über seine Haushunde, und einen Schwarz-Weiß-Film Chop Suey über eigene Beobachtungen des Alltags.3 Sein Antikriegsfilm A Letter to True war der Eröffnungsfilm der Berlinale 2004, die in ihrem Pressetext folgendes schrieb:

„US-Starfotograf Bruce Weber erschafft in seinem filmischen Essay A Letter to True eine Welt voller Sehnsucht und Dankbarkeit – eine Hommage an ein besseres Leben, an das ihn seine Hunde gemahnen. Seine Hunde Lassie und Rintintin ... (Erzählerinnen Julie Christie und Marianne Faithfull) nehmen den Zuschauer mit auf die Reise – den Brief an Lieblingshund True spricht Bruce Weber.“4

Für die Musikgruppe Pet Shop Boys drehte er die Videos zu den Singles Being boring (1990), Se a vida é (1996) und I get along (2002). 2004 machte Weber ein Stippvisite ins Modedesign. Er entwarf eine eigene Kollektion, der aber keine weitere folgte. Die Artikel der Casual Men's Wear unter dem Label Weberbilt werden bis heute in nur drei Läden weltweit verkauft, in London, Miami und Tokio. Weber ist verheiratet mit Nan Bush, mit der er auch manchmal zusammenarbeitet. Seine Arbeiten sind zum Beispiel im Victoria and Albert Museum, im Los Angeles County Museum of Art sowie im Centre Pompidou vertreten.

Kunstwerke Bruce Weber