WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Niki de Saint Phalle, actually Catherine Marie-Agnès Fal de Saint Phalle was a French-Swiss painter and sculptor of Modernism. In Germany, she became known as an artist primarily through the "Nana" figures, which were erected in 1974 in Hanover on the Leibniz bank, now part of the sculpture mile.

In 1953 she created her first paintings. At first, she worked as an action artist and from 1956 on she drew attention with her shooting pictures, these were plaster reliefs with integrated bags of paint, which she shot at the vernissage. In 1960 she divorced Mathews. From 1962 she was financially supported by Alexander Iolas, he organized exhibitions for her and introduced her to the circle of prominent artists. In 1962 she participated together with Jean Tinguely in the exhibition Dylaby in Amsterdam.

From 1965 the first "Nanas" - female figures with emphatically opulent and round forms - were created, initially still made of wire and textiles. She soon changed her technique and worked predominantly with polyester, a material that is used, among other things, in boat building. In 1965, the 2-meter-high Lili ou Tony was created for the Peter Stuyvesant cigarette factory in Zevenaar.

In 1966, at the instigation of the director Pontus Hultén (with the collaboration of her later second husband Jean Tinguely, whom she had met in 1955) and the Swede Per Olof Ultvedt, she installed a 29-metre-long reclining sculpture called Hon (Swedish: "she") in Stockholm's Moderna Museet which could be entered through the vagina and on the inside among other things, there was a bar and a cinema. The Nanas were painted with pure colours.

In 1968 Niki de Saint Phalle participated for the first time in an exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Further exhibitions followed in Munich and Hanover in 1969, as well as in Paris in 1970, Amsterdam, Stockholm, Rome and New York in 1971. In 1979 she began building the Giardino dei Tarocchi in Capalbio, south of Grosseto, in Tuscany. This garden of the Tarot was opened to the public in 1998. Even more famous is the construction of the Stravinsky Fountain in front of the Centre Pompidou in Paris, which she started in 1982 and designed together with Jean Tinguely.

Niki de Saint Phalle was one of the founding exhibitors of the Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn. From June to November 1992, she exhibited over 20 large sculptures, some of which are accessible for the observers, on the roof garden there. In 1999 Niki de Saint Phalle was commissioned to design the grottos in the Great Garden in Hanover-Herrenhausen, which have been open to visitors since 2003. Her work "L'ange protecteur" ("Guardian Angel", floating female figure) is located in the hall of the Zurich main station.

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Niki de Saint Phalle, eigentlich Catherine Marie-Agnès Fal de Saint Phalle war eine französisch-schweizerische Malerin und Bildhauerin der Moderne. In Deutschland wurde sie als Künstlerin vor allem durch die „Nana“-Figuren bekannt, die 1974 in Hannover am Leibnizufer, heute Teil der Skulpturenmeile, aufgestellt wurden.

1953 entstanden ihre ersten Gemälde. Zunächst arbeitete sie als Aktionskünstlerin und machte ab 1956 mit ihren Schießbildern auf sich aufmerksam, dies waren Gipsreliefs mit eingearbeiteten Farbbeuteln, auf die sie während der Vernissage schoss. 1960 erfolgte die Scheidung von Mathews. Ab 1962 wurde sie von Alexander Iolas finanziell unterstützt, er organisierte ihr Ausstellungen und führte sie in den Kreis prominenter Künstler ein. 1962 nahm sie gemeinsam mit Jean Tinguely an der Ausstellung Dylaby in Amsterdam teil.

Ab 1965 entstanden die ersten „Nanas“ – Frauenfiguren mit betont üppigen und runden Formen –, anfangs noch aus Draht und Textilien gefertigt. Schon bald wechselte sie jedoch ihre Technik und arbeitete vorwiegend mit Polyester, einem Material, das unter anderem bevorzugt im Bootsbau verwendet wird. 1965 entstand für die Peter-Stuyvesant-Zigarettenfabrik in Zevenaar die 2 Meter hohe Lili ou Tony.

1966 installierte sie auf Veranlassung des Direktors Pontus Hultén (unter Mitarbeit ihres späteren zweiten Ehemanns Jean Tinguely, den sie 1955 kennengelernt hatte) und des Schweden Per Olof Ultvedt im Stockholmer Moderna Museet eine 29 Meter lange liegende Skulptur mit dem Namen Hon (schwedisch: „sie“), die durch die Vagina betreten werden konnte und in deren Innerem sich unter anderem eine Bar und ein Kino befanden. Die Nanas sind mit reinbunten Farben gemalt worden.

1968 nahm Niki de Saint Phalle erstmals an einer Ausstellung des Museum of Modern Art in New York teil. Weitere Ausstellungen folgten 1969 in München und in Hannover sowie 1970 in Paris, 1971 in Amsterdam, Stockholm, Rom und New York. 1979 begann sie in der Toskana in Capalbio, südlich von Grosseto, mit dem Bau des Giardino dei Tarocchi. Dieser Garten des Tarot wurde 1998 für die Öffentlichkeit freigegeben. Noch bekannter ist der 1982 begonnene Bau des Strawinski-Brunnens vor dem Centre Pompidou in Paris, der von ihr zusammen mit Jean Tinguely gestaltet wurde.

Niki de Saint Phalle gehörte zu den Gründungsausstellerinnen der Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn. Von Juni bis November 1992 stellte sie unter anderem auf dem dortigen Dachgarten über 20 zum Teil begehbare Großplastiken aus. 1999 übernahm Niki de Saint Phalle den Auftrag zur Ausgestaltung der Grotten im Großen Garten in Hannover-Herrenhausen, die seit 2003 für Besucher offenstehen. Ihr Werk „L’ange protecteur“ („Schutzengel“, schwebende Frauenfigur) befindet sich in der Halle des Zürcher Hauptbahnhofes.