WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Lyonel Charles Adrian Feininger was a German-American painter, graphic artist and caricaturist. From 1909 he was a member of the Berlin Secession. With his works at the Bauhaus since 1919, he is one of the most important artists of modernism.

Feininger did not begin painting until the age of 36. Prior to that, he worked for a long time as a commercial caricaturist for various German, French, and American newspapers and magazines. He subjected his works to a hard and self-critical examination and, based on his caricatures, quickly developed a very distinctive painting style. In his paintings, the objects are abstracted and exaggerated in design. The strength and expression of Feininger's style influenced numerous contemporary artists and founded his importance and success. Feininger often picked up on pictorial motifs and compositions of his own caricatures and sketches in his works.

For example, his drawings of the idyllic small town of Ribnitz and Damgarten, created in 1905, have become famous, as well as his pictures of churches and village centres in the surrounding area of Weimar in Thuringia, where he repeatedly went on work and study trips between 1906 and 1937. The pictures are mostly named and numbered after the respective villages.

During the National Socialist era, Feininger's works were officially considered degenerate art. The National Socialists confiscated 378 works by the artist from public collections. A few months after his departure, they showed eight paintings (city views), one watercolour and thirteen woodcuts at the exhibition Entartete Kunst in Munich. As early as 1936 Feininger visited New York, taught during the summer months at Mills College in Oakland and prepared for his move to the United States. While Feininger was considered an American painter in Germany, he was virtually unknown to the New York public after his return as a "German". In the summer of 1937, he taught again at Mills College and made his first watercolour (Manhattan at Night), in which he dealt with New York. In 1939 he completed motifs of the Baltic Sea that had already been begun in Germany. One year later he started a series of "Manhattan pictures", which dealt with modern "skyscraper" architecture and street canyons. Yet for Feininger - although he lived in New York - the recalled motifs of his former home always remained an important pictorial theme. In 1944 he met Fernand Léger and for the first time - together with Marsden Hartley - he exhibited a retrospective at the Museum of Modern Art. In 1947 he was elected president of the Federation of American Painters and Sculptors and one year before his death he became a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Artworks Lyonel Feininger

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Lyonel Charles Adrian Feininger war ein deutsch-amerikanischer Maler, Grafiker und Karikaturist. Ab 1909 war er Mitglied der Berliner Secession. Mit seinen Arbeiten am Bauhaus seeit 1919 gehört er zu den bedeutendsten Künstlern der Moderne.

Feininger kam erst mit 36 Jahren zur Malerei. Zuvor war er lange als kommerzieller Karikaturist für diverse deutsche, französische und US-amerikanische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften tätig. Er unterzog seine Arbeiten einer harten selbstkritischen Prüfung und entwickelte, ausgehend von seinen Karikaturen, zügig einen sehr markanten Malstil. In seinen Bildern werden die Objekte abstrahiert und gestalterisch überhöht. Die dabei erreichte Stärke und der Ausdruck von Feiningers Stil beeinflussten zahlreiche zeitgenössische Künstler und begründeten seine Bedeutung und seinen Erfolg. Oft griff Feininger bei seinen Arbeiten Bildmotive und Kompositionen eigener Karikaturen und Skizzen wieder auf.

Berühmt geworden sind beispielsweise seine 1905 in Ribnitz und Damgarten entstandenen Zeichnungen der kleinstädtischen Idylle, ebenso seine Bilder von Kirchen und Dorfkernen des Weimarer Umlandes in Thüringen, wohin er sich zwischen 1906 und 1937 immer wieder für Arbeits- und Studienaufenthalte begab. Die Bilder sind meist nach den jeweiligen Ortschaften benannt und durchnummeriert.

In der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus galten Feiningers Werke offiziell als Entartete Kunst. Die Nationalsozialisten konfiszierten 378 Arbeiten des Künstlers aus öffentlichen Sammlungen. Wenige Monate nach seiner Abreise zeigten sie acht Gemälde (Städteansichten), ein Aquarell und dreizehn Holzschnitte auf der Ausstellung Entartete Kunst in München. Bereits 1936 besuchte Feininger New York, unterrichtete in den Sommermonaten am Mills College in Oakland und bereitete seine Übersiedlung in die Vereinigetn Staaten vor. Galt Feininger in Deutschland als amerikanischer Maler, so war er dem New Yorker Publikum nach seiner Rückkehr als „Deutscher“ so gut wie unbekannt. Im Sommer 1937 lehrte er wieder am Mills College und fertigte erste Aquarelle (Manhattan at Night) an, in denen er sich mit New York auseinandersetzte. 1939 vollendete er bereits in Deutschland begonnene Motive der Ostsee. Ein Jahr später startete er eine Serie mit „Manhattan-Bildern“, welche die moderne „Wolkenkratzer“-Architektur und Straßenschluchten zum Thema hatten. Doch blieben für Feininger – obwohl in New York wohnend – immer auch die erinnerten Motive seiner ehemaligen Heimat weiterhin wichtiges Bildthema. 1944 traf er Fernand Léger und stellte erstmals – zusammen mit Marsden Hartley – eine Retrospektive im Museum oof Modern Art aus. 1947 wurde er zum Präsidenten der Federation of American Painters und Sculptors gewählt und ein Jahr vor seinem Tod zum Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Kunstwerke Lyonel Feininger