WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Georges Braque was a French painter, graphic artist and sculptor. After an early Fauvist creative phase, Braque was the co-founder of Cubism together with Pablo Picasso.

Braque made the acquaintance of Henri Matisse, Albert Marquet and André Derain, who exhibited Fauvist works, through an exhibition at the XXII Salon des Indépendants in March and April in 1906, where he showed seven paintings (all of which were later destroyed). Braque was influenced by the style of these artists called "Fauves" (French for savages) and devoted himself increasingly to this direction. He worked closely with Raoul Dufy and Othon Friesz, who also lived in Le Havre.

At the end of November/beginning of December 1907, Guillaume Apollinaire accompanied Braque to Picasso's studio in the Bateau-Lavoir, 13 Rue Ravignan. This was probably Braque's first visit, but perhaps the first contacts had already taken place in spring, during the Indépendants. It was here that Braque first saw the painting Les Demoiselles d'Avignon (Museum of Modern Art, New York), which was completed in the summer of 1907, and the painting Three Women (Hermitage of Saint Petersburg), which had not been finished yet. Impressed by this visit, Braque also worked on figurative compositions in December and began a large painting entitled Woman (whereabouts unknown; probably lost or destroyed). Picasso's studio now formed the place where not only Picasso's works - such as nudes with clothing - but also Braque's works were discussed. Thus, Braque was also visited by Picasso in his roof studio in the Rue d'Orsel, especially since the Bateau-Lavoir was only a few hundred metres away.

At the beginning of 1908 Braque worked on another figurative motif, the Large Nude (oil on canvas, 140 × 100 cm, Ales Maguy Collection, Paris). At the XXIV Salon des Indépendants - Picasso never showed his works at the Salon - Braque exhibited four other works in addition to the painting Frau (which is not mentioned in the catalogue). Picasso told his girlfriend Fernande Olivier that Braque had "secretly painted a large picture with a cubist construction" without revealing to anyone the "source of his inspiration". Thus Picasso had only abandoned his reservations about Braque in the autumn of 1908, whom he had previously suspected of wanting to exploit his works and ideas without naming their originators.

In the summer of 1908, Braque returned to L'Estaque and painted a series of Cubist landscapes, of which Street at L'Estaque (Museum of Modern Art, New York) is the best known. Picasso, who spent the summer in Val-d'Oise and also painted landscapes, arrived, completely independently, at very similar painterly results: "...a concise pictorial language of facetted forms, multi-vision of objects and withdrawal of colour for the sake of form.

In the spring of 1910, Braque painted the first oval cubist painting, Woman with Mandolin, whereupon Picasso also painted an oval picture with the same subject. In the following twelve months, both in L'Estaque and in Paris, he painted further still lifes, some of them in oval form. At the beginning of September 1910, Kahnweiler sent four paintings by Braque and three paintings by Picasso on loan to an exhibition of both artists at the Thannhauser Gallery in Munich.

From around 1911 Braque lived together with Marcelle Laprè, with whom he moved into a shared apartment at Impasse de Guelma 5 in January 1912. In literature, she has been referred to as "Marcelle Braque" since 1912; in fact, the couple did not marry until 1925. Marcelle Laprè (1879-1965) was to become his lifelong companion. Braque and Picasso spent a few weeks in the summer of 1911 in the small town of Céret in southern France. Here they continued their intensive exchange that they had begun in Paris, and the period of the most productive collaboration between the two artists began. While Braque painted the man with guitar, Picasso answered with the congenial accordionist. In the still lifes Candlestick (Braque) and Still Life with Fan (Picasso), both artists incorporated the title of the daily newspaper L'Indépendant, written in Gothic type, into their motifs. Picasso returned to Paris in early September, Braque remained in Céret until January 1912, but he corresponded frequently with Picasso. The first paper sculptures of Braque are also dated in this period, which earned him the nickname Wilbur Wright (after the designer of biplane planes) from Picasso.

Braque returned from Céret with the painting Homage to J. S. Bach, in which he used pochoir letters for the first time. At the same time, he added a naturalistically painted wood grain to the motif. In Paris he painted the round still life Soda and Man with Violin. At the end of April Braque travelled together with Picasso for a few days to his home town Le Havre, a visit that inspired Picasso to paint Souvenir du Havre. At the beginning of August, Braque and Marcelle left for Sorgues (sur-l'Ouvèze), a small town north of Avignon, where they moved into a small villa and where Braque continued to work on his paper sculptures. For the first time, he also mixed sand into his painting pigments. In Sorgues they met Picasso, who had rented a room in the neighbourhood with his girlfriend Eva Gouel. Inspired by his paper sculptures, he created his first Papiers collés in mid-September, works in which he used imitation wood paper and later newspaper cuttings as compositional elements. Picasso immediately took up Braque's "invention" and also used music paper and wallpaper patterns in his compositions. The paper collés, with their two-dimensional appearance and increasing colourfulness, ushered in the transition to Synthetic Cubism.

In winter and spring 1914 both artists worked again in Paris. The titles of the works indicate the close contact: Still Life with Ace of Hearts (Braque) and Wine Glass with Ace of Clubs (Picasso). In June, Braque set off on a bicycle tour to the summer house in Sorgues. Picasso and André Derain were already waiting for him there. Picasso had moved into a house with Eva in the neighbouring Avignon. After Austria's declaration of war on Serbia, Braque and Derain were called up for military service. As a Spaniard, Picasso was not liable to military service.

On August 2, 1914, both painters were taken to the train station in Avignon by Picasso. Picasso later said (albeit metaphorically) that he had never seen Braque again since then. In December 1914 Alfred Stieglitz's Gallery 291 in New York showed twenty paintings by Braque and Picasso from the collection of Francis Picabia.

In 1915 Braque was seriously wounded on the head during a frontal attack. After a long convalescence in Sorgues, he returned to Paris in the spring of 1917 and frequently met Juan Gris and the sculptor Henri Laurens. He no longer had any personal contact with Picasso. He distanced himself from Cubism and developed his own style, in which he mainly painted still lifes. In 1922 Braque was invited to participate in the exhibition of the Salon d'Automne in a room of his own. He sold all 18 exhibited works.

In 1930 he built a country house on the seaside of Varengeville-sur-Mer (near Dieppe). In the 1930s and 1940s Braque painted motifs in which figure and space (The Painting Woman, 1936) and space and interior (The Billiard Table, 1945) interpenetrated. In his studio paintings, created in 1946, Braque used a large white bird, which was originally the motif of a painting that Braque destroyed. From 1947 on he worked together with the lithographer Fernand Mourlot in Paris, who, since then, has printed his lithographs. In 1948 Maeght in Paris published the lithography suite Cahier de Georges Braque. In 1951 he was accepted as an honorary foreign member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Two years later he received the commission to execute a ceiling painting for the Etruscan Gallery in the Louvre. In 1954 Braque created a deep blue stained-glass window representing the family tree of Christ for the choir of the Saint-Valery church in Varengeville and seven figurative stained-glass windows for the Saint-Dominique chapel in the same village. In 1958 he was awarded an international Antonio Feltrinelli Prize and one year later he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. For the Fondation Maeght near Saint-Paul-de-Vence which opened in 1964, he created a water basin and a stained-glass window in the chapel belonging to it.

The artist died in his apartment on 31 August 1963 in Paris. His burial place is in the cemetery of Varengeville-sur-Mer in the Normandy.

Georges Braque was a participant in documenta 1 (1955), documenta II (1959) and (posthumously) documenta III in 1964 in Kassel.

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Georges Braque war ein französischer Maler, Grafiker und Bildhauer. Nach einer frühen fauvistischen Schaffensphase war Braque zusammen mit Pablo Picasso der Mitbegründer des Kubismus.

Braque machte im Jahr März/April 1906 durch eine Ausstellung im XXII. Salon des Indépendants, auf der er sieben Bilder zeigte (die alle später zerstört wurden), die Bekanntschaft von Henri Matisse, Albert Marquet und André Derain, die fauvistische Werke ausstellten. Braque wurde vom Stil dieser „Fauves“ (französisch für Wilde) genannten Künstler beeinflusst und widmete sich verstärkt dieser Richtung. Er arbeitete eng mit Raoul Dufy und Othon Friesz zusammen, die ebenfalls in Le Havre wohnten.

Ende November/Anfang Dezember 1907 begleitete Guillaume Apollinaire Braque in Picassos Atelier im Bateau-Lavoir, Rue Ravignan 13. Vermutlich war dies Braques erster Besuch, vielleicht hatten aber auch schon im Frühjahr, während der Indépendants, erste Kontakte stattgefunden. Hier sah Braque erstmals das im Sommer 1907 beendete Gemälde Les Demoiselles d’Avignon (Museum of Modern Art, New York) und das begonnene Gemälde Drei Frauen (Eremitage Sankt Petersburg). Beeindruckt von diesem Besuch, arbeitete auch Braque im Dezember an Figurenkompositionen und begann ein großes Gemälde mit dem Titel Frau (Verbleib unbekannt; vermutlich verloren oder zerstört). Picassos Atelier bildete nun den Ort, in dem nicht nur über Picassos Arbeiten – etwa Akt mit Kleidungsstück –, sondern auch über die Braques diskutiert wurde. So wurde auch Braque in seinem Dachatelier in der Rue d’Orsel von Picasso besucht, zumal das Bateau-Lavoir nur wenige hundert Meter entfernt lag.

Anfang 1908 arbeitete Braque an einem weiteren figurativen Motiv, dem Großen Akt (Öl auf Leinwand, 140 × 100 cm, Sammlung Ales Maguy, Paris). Im XXIV. Salon des Indépendants – Picasso zeigte seine Arbeiten niemals im Salon – stellte Braque neben dem Gemälde Frau (das im Katalog nicht erwähnt wird), vier weitere Arbeiten aus. Picasso äußerte gegenüber seiner Freundin Fernande Olivier, Braque hätte „ein großes Bild mit kubistischer Konstruktion heimlich gemalt“ ohne irgendjemanden die „Quelle seiner Inspiration“ zu verraten.5 So hatte Picasso seine Vorbehalte gegenüber Braque erst im Herbst 1908 aufgegeben, den er zuvor verdächtigte, seine Arbeiten und Ideen verwerten zu wollen, ohne deren Urheber anzugeben.

Im Sommer 1908 hielt sich Braque wieder in L’Estaque auf und malte eine Serie kubistischer Landschaften, von denen Straße bei L’Estaque (Museum of Modern Art, New York), das bekannteste ist. Picasso, der den Sommer im Val-d’Oise verbrachte und ebenfalls Landschaften malte, kam, völlig unabhängig, zu ganz ähnlichen malerischen Ergebnissen: „ einer verknappenden Bildsprache aus facettierten Formen, Mehransichtigkeit der Gegenstände und Zurücknahme der Farbe um der Form willen.“

Im Frühjahr 1910 entstand mit Frau mit Mandoline das erste ovale kubistische Gemälde, worauf Picasso ebenfalls ein ovales Bild mit gleichem Sujet malte. Die folgenden zwölf Monate malte er, sowohl in L’Estaque als auch in Paris, weitere Stillleben, zum Teil in ovaler Form. Anfang September 1910 schickte Kahnweiler vier Gemälde Braques und drei Gemälde Picassos als Leihgabe zu einer Ausstellung beider Künstler in der Galerie Thannhauser nach München.

Seit etwa 1911 lebte Braque mit Marcelle Laprè zusammen, mit der er im Januar 1912 eine gemeinsame Wohnung in der Impasse de Guelma 5 bezog. In der Literatur wird sie seit 1912 als „Marcelle Braque“ bezeichnet; tatsächlich heiratete das Paar erst 1925. Marcelle Laprè (1879–1965) sollte seine lebenslange Begleiterin werden. Den Sommer 1911 verbrachten Braque und Picasso einige Wochen in der südfranzösische Kleinstadt Céret. Sie setzten hier ihren intensiven, in Paris begonnene Austausch fort, die Zeit der produktivsten Zusammenarbeit beider Künstler begann. Während Braque den Mann mit Gitarre, malte, antwortete Picasso mit der kongenialen Akkordeonspielerin. In den Stillleben Kerzenleuchter (Braque) und Stillleben mit Fächer (Picasso) bezogen beide Künstler den in Fraktur geschriebenen Titel der Tageszeitung L’Indépendant in ihre Motive ein. Picasso kehrte Anfang September nach Paris zurück, Braque blieb bis Januar 1912 in Céret, korrespondierte aber häufig mit Picasso. In dieser Zeit werden auch die ersten Papierplastiken von Braque datiert, die ihm bei Picasso den Spitznamen Wilbur Wright (nach dem Konstrukteur von Doppeldecker-Flugzeugen) einbrachte.

Aus Céret kehrte Braque mit dem Gemälde Hommage an J. S. Bach zurück, in dem er erstmals Pochoir-Buchstaben verwendete. Gleichzeitig fügte er in das Motiv eine naturalistisch gemalte Holzmaserung ein. In Paris malte er das runde Stillleben Soda und Mann mit Violine. Ende April fuhr Braque zusammen mit Picasso einige Tage in seine Heimatstadt Le Havre, ein Besuch, der Picasso zu dem Gemälde Souvenir du Havre anregte. Anfang August brachen Braque und Marcelle nach Sorgues (sur-l’Ouvèze) auf, einer kleinen Stadt nördlich von Avignon, wo sie eine kleine Villa bezogen und wo Braque weiterhin an seinen Papierskulpturen arbeitete. Seinen Mal-Pigmenten mischte er erstmals Sand bei. In Sorgues trafen sie Picasso, der sich in der Nachbarschaft mit seiner Freundin Eva Gouel eingemietet hatte. Angeregt durch seine Papierskulpturen, entstanden Mitte September die ersten Papiers collés, Werke, bei denen er Holzimitat-Papier, später auch Zeitungsausschnitte kompositorisch als Bildelemente einsetzte. Picasso griff Braques „Erfindung“ umgehend auf und verwendete zudem Notenpapiere und Tapetenmuster in seinen Kompositionen. Die Papier collés leiteten mit ihrer flächigen, zweidimensionalen Anmutung und ihrer zunehmenden Farbigkeit, den Übergang zum Synthetischen Kubismus ein.

Im Winter und im Frühjahr 1914 arbeiteten beide Künstler wieder in Paris. Auf den engen Kontakt lassen die Titel der Arbeiten schließen: Stillleben mit Herz-As (Braque) und Weinglas mit Kreuz-As (Picasso). Im Juni brach Braque zu einer Fahrradtour auf, deren Ziel das Sommerhaus in Sorgues war. Dort erwarteten ihn bereits Picasso und André Derain. Picasso hatte mit Eva im benachbarten Avignon ein Haus bezogen. Nach der Kriegserklärung Österreichs an Serbien wurden Braque und Derain zum Kriegsdienst eingezogen, Picasso war als Spanier nicht wehrpflichtig.

Am 2. August 1914 wurden beide Maler von Picasso zum Bahnhof von Avignon gebracht. Picasso äußerte später (wenn auch metaphorisch), dass er Braque seither niemals wieder gesehen hätte. Im Dezember 1914 zeigte Alfred Stieglitz' Galerie 291 in New York zwanzig Bilder von Braque und Picasso aus der Sammlung von Francis Picabia.

1915 wurde Braque bei einem Fronteinsatz am Kopf schwer verwundet. Nach langer Rekonvaleszenz in Sorgues kehrte er im Frühjahr 1917 nach Paris zurück und begegnete häufig Juan Gris und dem Bildhauer Henri Laurens. Zu Picasso hatte er keinen persönlichen Kontakt mehr. Er entfernte sich vom Kubismus und entwickelte einen eigenen Stil, bei dem er vornehmlich Stillleben malte. 1922 wurde Braque eingeladen, in einem eigenen Raum an der Ausstellung des Salon d’Automne teilzunehmen. Er verkaufte sämtliche 18 ausgestellten Arbeiten.16

1930 baute er ein Landhaus im Badeort Varengeville-sur-Mer (bei Dieppe). In den 1930er und 1940er Jahren malte Braque Motive, bei denen sich Figur und Raum (Malende Frau, 1936) und Raum und Interieur (Der Billardtisch, 1945) durchdrangen. In seinen 1946 entstandenen Atelier-Bildern verwendete Braque einen großen weißen Vogel, ursprünglich das Motiv eines Gemäldes, das Braque zerstörte. Ab 1947 arbeitete er mit dem Steindrucker Fernand Mourlot in Paris zusammen, der seitdem seine Lithografien druckte. 1948 erschien bei Maeght in Paris die Lithografien-Suite Cahier de Georges Braque. 1953 erhielt er den Auftrag, ein Deckengemälde für die Etruskische Galerie im Louvre auszuführen. 1954 schuf Braque für den Chor der Saint-Valery-Kirche von Varengeville ein tiefblaues Glasfenster, das den Stammbaum Christi darstellt, und für die Saint-Dominique-Kapelle desselben Dorfs sieben figurative Glasfenster. 1958 wurde er mit einem internationalen Antonio-Feltrinelli-Preis ausgezeichnet. 1951 wurde er als auswärtiges Ehrenmitglied in die American Academy of Arts and Letters aufgenommen.17 1959 wurde er in die American Academy of Arts and Sciences gewählt. Für die 1964 eröffnete Fondation Maeght bei Saint-Paul-de-Vence schuf er ein Wasserbecken und ein Glasfenster in der dazugehörigen Kapelle.

Am 31. August 1963 starb der Künstler in seiner Pariser Wohnung. Seine Grabstätte liegt auf dem Friedhof von Varengeville-sur-Mer in der Normandie.

Georges Braque war Teilnehmer der documenta 1 (1955), der documenta II (1959) und (postum) der documenta III im Jahr 1964 in Kassel.