WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Giovanni Giacometti was a Swiss painter and graphic artist. Together with his friend, the painter Cuno Amiet, he introduced the painting style of Post-Impressionism into Swiss art.

Giovanni Giacometti studied from 1886 to 1887 in Munich and from 1888 to 1891 together with Cuno Amiet and Andrea Robbi at the Académie Julian in Paris under William Adolphe Bouguereau and Joseph Nicolas Robert-Fleury. He was influenced by the Fauves, Cuno Amiet, Paul Cézanne, Vincent van Gogh and at the beginning of his artistic career especially by Giovanni Segantini, who promoted him in Maloja from 1894. Around 1900 he broke away from Segantini's Divisionist painting style and began to adopt the post-Impressionist style of French painting.

In 1900 Giacometti married Annetta, born Stampa (1871-1964); their children were Alberto, Diego, Ottilia (1904-1937) and Bruno Giacometti. Until 1904 the family lived in the mountain village of Borgonovo in Bergell; they then moved to nearby Stampa in a house whose stable Giovanni Giacometti used as a studio. The family regularly spent the summer in Capolago near Maloja. In 1908 Giacometti received an invitation to exhibit in Dresden together with the artists of the Brücke group. Between 1906 and 1911 he painted in an expressive style. In 1912 he had an exhibition at the Kunsthaus Zürich.

Giacometti's work consists of impressionistic landscape paintings and portraits of his family and neighbouring personalities such as the painter Elvezia Michel-Baldini. Some of his paintings are also in the Symbolist style. His works are represented in most Swiss museums.

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Giovanni Giacometti war ein Schweizer Maler und Grafiker. Er führte zusammen mit seinem Freund, dem Maler Cuno Amiet, den Malstil des Post-Impressionismus in die Schweizer Kunst ein.

Giovanni Giacometti studierte von 1886 bis 1887 in München und von 1888 bis 1891 zusammen mit Cuno Amiet und Andrea Robbi bei William Adolphe Bouguereau und Joseph Nicolas Robert-Fleury an der Académie Julian in Paris. Beeinflusst wurde er von den Fauves, Cuno Amiet, Paul Cézanne, Vincent van Gogh und zu Beginn seiner künstlerischen Laufbahn besonders von Giovanni Segantini, der ihn ab 1894 in Maloja förderte. Um 1900 löste er sich von der divisionistischen Malweise Segantinis und begann, den post-impressionistischen Stil der französischen Malerei zu übernehmen.

Giacometti heiratete im Jahr 1900 Annetta, geborene Stampa (1871–1964); die gemeinsamen Kinder waren Alberto, Diego, Ottilia (1904–1937) und Bruno Giacometti. Bis 1904 lebte die Familie in dem Bergdorf Borgonovo im Bergell; sie zog danach ins nahe gelegene Stampa in ein Haus, dessen Stall Giovanni Giacometti als Atelier nutzte. Den Sommer verbrachte die Familie regelmässig in Capolago bei Maloja. Im Jahr 1908 erhielt Giacometti eine Einladung, gemeinsam mit den Künstlern der Künstlergruppe Brücke in Dresden auszustellen. In den Jahren 1906 bis 1911 malte er im expressiven Stil. 1912 hatte er eine Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Zürich.

Giacomettis Werk besteht aus impressionistischer Landschaftsmalerei und Porträts seiner Familie sowie benachbarter Persönlichkeiten wie etwa der Malerin Elvezia Michel-Baldini. Teilweise sind seine Gemälde auch im Stil des Symbolismus gehalten. Seine Werke sind in den meisten Schweizer Museen vertreten.