WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Giuseppe Santomaso was an abstract Italian painter. From 1932 to 1934 he studied at the Accademia di Belle Arti in Venice. As early as 1934 he was invited in his home town to participate as an artist in the Venice Biennale.

Santomaso was intensively engaged in avant-garde art. In 1937 he undertook a study trip to the Netherlands, where he studied the artists of Impressionism and Fauvism. During visits to Paris on the occasion of the world exhibitions, Giuseppe Santomaso focused on the art of Henri Matisse, Georges Braque, Pierre Bonnard and Pablo Picasso. In 1939 Santomaso had his solo exhibition in the gallery 'Rive Gauche' in Paris.

In 1946 Santomaso was co-founder of the progressive Italian artists' group 'Nouva Secessione artistica italiana'. This group was later renamed 'Fronte Nuovo delle Arti'. The aim of this group of artists was to prevent a provincialization of Italian art. In 1948, however, the 'Fronte Nuovo delle Arti' split into two camps: the representatives of realistic art and abstract art. Santomaso belonged to the abstract faction. This group called itself in 1952 'Gruppo degli otto Pittori Italiani' ("Gruppo degli Otto"). The artists of the group exhibited together.

In the 1950s Santomaso became increasingly involved with the expression of the Informel, his art became more abstract. In the 1960s, Santomaso's paintings became calmer and more graphic. Finally, in the 1970s, his paintings incorporated the architectural elements of the palazzi of Venice and were strongly inspired by his home city.

From 1954 to 1974 Santomaso was a teacher at the Accademia di Belle Arti and he participated thirteen times in the Venice Biennale during the same period. In 1955, 1959 and 1964 he participated in documenta 1, documenta II and documenta III in Kassel. In 1983 Santomaso received an Antonio Feltrinelli Prize. Until his death in Venice in 1990, he participated in numerous other national and international exhibitions.

Artworks Giuseppe Santomaso

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Giuseppe Santomaso war ein abstrakter italienischer Maler. Von 1932 bis 1934 studierte er an der Accademia di Belle Arti in Venedig. Bereits im Jahr 1934 wurde er in seiner Heimatstadt zur Teilnahme als Künstler an der Biennale von Venedig eingeladen.

Santomaso beschäftigte sich intensiv mit der avantgardistischen Kunst. 1937 unternahm er eine Studienreise in die Niederlande und studierte dort die Künstler des Impressionismus und des Fauvismus. Bei Besuchen in Paris anlässlich der Weltausstellungen beschäftigte sich Giuseppe Santomaso mit der Kunst von Henri Matisse, Georges Braque, Pierre Bonnard und Pablo Picasso. Im Jahr 1939 hatte Santomaso seine Einzelausstellung in der Galerie 'Rive Gauche' in Paris.

Santomaso war 1946 Mitbegründer der progressiven italienischen Künstlergruppe 'Nouva Secessione artistica italiana'. Diese Gruppe wurde später in 'Fronte Nuovo delle Arti' umbenannt. Das Ziel dieser Künstlergruppe war, eine Provinzialisierung der italienischen Kunst zu verhindern. Im Jahr 1948 allerdings spaltete sich der 'Fronte Nuovo delle Arti' in zwei Lager: In die Vertreter der realistischen Kunst und der abstrakten Kunst. Santomaso gehörte zur Fraktion der Abstrakten. Diese Gruppe nannte sich im Jahr 1952 'Gruppo degli otto Pittori Italiani' ("Gruppo degli Otto"). Die Künstler der Gruppe stellten gemeinsam aus.

In den 1950er Jahren beschäftigte sich Santomaso zunehmend mit der Ausdrucksweise des Informel, seine Kunst wurde abstrakter. In den 1960er Jahren wurden Santomasos Gemälde ruhiger und grafischer. In den 1970er Jahren schließlich fanden sich in seinen Gemälden die Architekturelemente der Palazzi von Venedig und die Bilder wurden stark von seiner Heimatstadt inspiriert.

Von 1954 bis 1974 war Santomaso als Lehrer an den Accademie di Belle Arti tätig und er beteiligte sich im selben Zeitraum dreizehnmal an der Biennale von Venedig. In den Jahren 1955, 1959 und 1964 war er Teilnehmer der documenta 1, der documenta II und documenta III in Kassel.

1983 erhielt Santomaso einen Antonio-Feltrinelli-Preis. Bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1990 in Venedig war er Teilnehmer zahlreicher weiterer nationaler und internationaler Ausstellungen.

Kunstwerke Giuseppe Santomaso