WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Hans Baumgartner was a Swiss photographer and teacher. He was born in 1911 in Altnau TG on Lake Constance. He trained as a teacher at the Kreuzlingen Teachers' Seminar and at the University of Zurich. From 1937 until his retirement he worked as a teacher, until 1962 in Steckborn, later in Frauenfeld.

Baumgartner's first photographs were taken in 1929 and were discovered by the journalist Arnold Kübler in the early 1930s. A first photo report appeared in 1935, after which Baumgartner published in magazines such as Camera, Du, Der Schweizer Spiegel, Die Schweiz and Föhn. The Neue Zürcher Zeitung and the Thurgauer Zeitung also published his pictures. His photo books (from 1941) are mainly concerned with topics from his home canton Thurgau. In 1937 he made the acquaintance of the painter Adolf Dietrich, whom he subsequently portrayed several times.

Baumgartner also photographed during his travels to Paris (1930, 1931; 1991) and Italy (1935), to the Balkans (1935), to the South of France (1949; 1953), North Africa and the Sahara (1949); to Croatia with Dalmatia (1957), to Burgundy (1966), to Spain and Portugal, Sweden and Finland (1969), to the USA (1970), to Hungary (1981; 1991), Belgium (1987; 1991) and Germany. On his world tour by ship in 1963 he reached Asia (Bombay, Colombo, Saigon, Hong Kong, Yokohama) and the American continent (Mexico, USA). Stays at a health resort led him to Davos in 1946 and 1954.

Hans Baumgartner died in Frauenfeld in 1996.

His estate of approximately 120,000 photographs is administered by the Swiss Foundation for Photography.

Artworks Hans Baumgartner

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Hans Baumgartner war ein Schweizer Fotograf und Lehrer. Er wurde 1911 in Altnau TG am Bodensee geboren. Im Lehrerseminar Kreuzlingen und an der Universität Zürich liess er sich zum Pädagogen ausbilden. Ab 1937 bis zu seiner Pensionierung arbeitete er als Lehrer, bis 1962 in Steckborn, später in Frauenfeld.

Baumgartners erste Fotografien entstanden 1929. Anfangs der 1930er Jahre entdeckte ihn der Journalist Arnold Kübler. Eine erste Fotoreportage erschien 1935. Danach publizierte Baumgartner in Magazinen wie Camera, du, Der Schweizer Spiegel, Die Schweiz und Föhn. Auch die Neue Zürcher Zeitung und die Thurgauer Zeitung veröffentlichten seine Bilder. Seine Fotobücher (ab 1941) beschäftigen sich vor allem mit Themen aus seinem Heimatkanton Thurgau. 1937 machte er die Bekanntschaft mit dem Maler Adolf Dietrich, welchen er in der Folge mehrfach porträtierte.

Baumgartner fotografierte auch auf seinen Reisen nach Paris (1930, 1931; 1991) und Italien (1935), auf den Balkan (1935), nach Südfrankreich (1949; 1953), Nordafrika und in die Sahara (1949); nach Kroatien mit Dalmatien (1957), ins Burgund (1966), nach Spanien und Portugal, Schweden und Finnland (1969), in die USA (1970), nach Ungarn (1981; 1991), Belgien (1987; 1991) und Deutschland. Auf seiner Weltreise per Schiff gelangte er 1963 nach Asien (Bombay, Colombo, Saigon, Hongkong, Yokohama) und auf den amerikanischen Kontinent (Mexiko, USA). Kuraufenthalte führten ihn 1946 und 1954 nach Davos.

Hans Baumgartner ist 1996 in Frauenfeld verstorben.

Seinen Nachlass von zirka 120'000 Aufnahmen verwaltet die Schweizerische Stiftung für Photographie.

Kunstwerke Hans Baumgartner