WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Imi Knoebel (Klaus Wolf Knoebel) is a German painter and sculptor of the Minimal Art movement.

From 1962 to 1964 he attended the Werkkunstschule Darmstadt together with Imi Giese (1942-1974), where he learned constructive and structural composition exercises based on ideas from the Bauhaus preliminary course of Johannes Itten and László Moholy-Nagy.

In 1964, together with Giese, he transferred to the Düsseldorf Art Academy in the commercial art class of Walter Breker. From 1965 on, both Imis - like his friend Rainer Giese, Knoebel took the first name Imi ("Imi + Imi") - managed to be accepted into the Beuys class in room 20 through extravagant appearance, whereby they, however, at times together with Jörg Immendorff and Blinky Palermo, occupied the neighboring room 19.

Joseph Beuys propagated the radical change in the concept of art and society. Knoebel dealt with the liberation of art from any content and function. Initially Knoebel created black and white line paintings (1966-1968). Under the influence of Kasimir Malevich and his "Black Square", Knoebel created two-dimensional sculptures made of plates lying on top of each other (e.g. Sandwich I and Sandwich II, Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich) or of colorfully painted aluminum slats and plates that partially overlap each other, resulting in patterns similar to those of Piet Mondrian (e.g. INNINN, Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich).

Knoebel's reduction is evident in a concentration of pictorial form and material. The result is an arsenal of stretcher frames and geometric forms made of wood fibreboard: cubes, arched elements, segments of circles or rectangles, which together form a basic spatial vocabulary that works on its own and whose structure the visitors* should perceive and sensually experience: Cuboids are sometimes metres high in the room, sometimes lean flat against the wall or hang as monochrome "panel paintings".

The first installation "Raum 19", created in 1968, is located in the Dia Center, New York. In 1992, Knoebel created a second version for the Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt for the immediate neighborhood of Joseph Beuys "Block Beuys", so that students (Knoebel) and teachers (Beuys) are adjacent as they were at college.

From 1968 Knoebel used photography as an artistic medium. He used slides to project light fields onto walls and photographed rooms rhythmized by light. In 1970, during a night-time drive through Darmstadt, he projected an x-shaped beam of light onto buildings. The extensive slide and photo series of "Projection X" are in the collection of the Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt.

Together with Giese and Blinky Palermo (pseudonym for Peter Heisterkamp), he formed a Minimal Art movement among the Beuys students - in contrast to other Beuys students of the same time as Jörg Immendorff, who turned to agitprop art. In the early 1970s, he was a regular visitor to the Ratinger Hof scene meeting place in Düsseldorf's old town, which Carmen Knoebel ran together with Ingrid Kohlhöfer (the wife of Christof Kohlhöfer).

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Imi Knoebel (Klaus Wolf Knoebel) ist ein deutscher Maler und Bildhauer der Kunstrichtung der Minimal Art.

Von 1962 bis 1964 besuchte er gemeinsam mit Imi Giese (1942–1974) die Werkkunstschule Darmstadt, wo er, nach Ideen des Bauhaus-Vorkurses von Johannes Itten und László Moholy-Nagy, konstruktive und strukturale Kompositionsübungen erlernte. 1964 wechselte er gemeinsam mit Giese an die Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie in die Gebrauchsgrafik-Klasse von Walter Breker. Ab 1965 erreichten es beide Imis – wie sein Freund Rainer Giese nahm Knoebel den Vornamen Imi an („Imi + Imi“) – durch extravagantes Auftreten in die Beuys-Klasse in Raum 20 aufgenommen zu werden, wobei sie jedoch, zeitweise gemeinsam mit Jörg Immendorff und Blinky Palermo, den benachbarten Raum 19 beanspruchten.

Joseph Beuys propagierte die radikale Veränderung von Kunstbegriff und Gesellschaft. Knoebel setzte sich mit der Befreiung der Kunst von jeglichen Inhalten und Funktionen auseinander. Zunächst schuf Knoebel schwarz-weiße Linienbilder (1966–1968). Unter dem Einfluss von Kasimir Malewitsch und dessen „Schwarzem Quadrat“ entstanden flächige Skulpturen aus übereinanderliegenden Platten (z. B. Sandwich I und Sandwich II, Pinakothek der Moderne, München) oder aus bunt bemalten Aluminiumlatten und -platten, die sich gegenseitig teilweise überdecken, wobei sich Muster ähnlich wie bei Piet Mondrian ergeben (z. B. INNINN, Pinakothek der Moderne, München).

Knoebels Reduktion zeigt sich in einer Konzentration der bildnerischen Form und des Materials. Es entstand ein Arsenal an Keilrahmen und geometrischen Formen aus Holzfaserplatten: Kuben, Bogenelemente, Kreissegmente oder Rechtecke, die zusammen ein räumliches Grundvokabular bilden, das aus sich selbst heraus wirkt und dessen Struktur die Besucher*innen wahrnehmen und sinnlichen erfahren sollen: Quader stehen mal meterhoch im Raum, lehnen mal flach an der Wand oder hängen als monochrome „Tafelbilder“.

Die erste, im Jahr 1968 entstandene, Installation „Raum 19“ befindet sich im Dia Center, New York. Im Jahr 1992 erstellte Knoebel für das Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt eine zweite Version für die unmittelbare Nachbarschaft zu Joseph Beuys „Block Beuys“, so dass Schüler (Knoebel) und Lehrer (Beuys) wie zu Hochschulzeiten benachbart sind.

Ab 1968 verwendete Knoebel die Fotografie als künstlerisches Medium. Er projizierte mit Dias Lichtfelder auf Wänden und fotografierte die durch Licht rhythmisierten Räume. Im Jahre 1970 projizierte er während einer nächtlichen Fahrt durch Darmstadt einen x-förmigen Lichtstrahl auf Gebäude. Die umfangreichen Dia- und Fotoserien der „Projektion X“ befinden sich in der Sammlung des Hessischen Landesmuseum Darmstadt.

Mit Giese und Blinky Palermo (Pseudonym für Peter Heisterkamp) bildet er eine Minimal-Art-Strömung unter den Beuys-Schülern – im Gegensatz zu anderen Beuys-Schülern der gleichen Zeit wie Jörg Immendorff, die sich der Agitprop-Kunst zuwandten. Anfang der 1970er Jahre gehörte er zu den regelmäßigen Besuchern des Szenetreffpunkts Ratinger Hof in der Düsseldorfer Altstadt, den Carmen Knoebel zusammen mit Ingrid Kohlhöfer (der Frau von Christof Kohlhöfer) betrieb.