WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Jean Philippe Arthur Dubuffet was a French painter, sculptor, collage and action artist and counts among the most prominent representatives of French post-war art. Dubuffet was also an influential art writer; he coined the term Art brut.

Jean Dubuffet was born in Le Havre as the son of an upper middle-class family of wine merchants. As a student, he took evening classes in drawing at the École des Beaux-Arts in Le Havre in 1916; after graduating from high school in 1918, he went to Paris to study literature, language and music at the Académie Julian. Here he met Max Jacob in 1919. In the twenties he painted figurative compositions in the circle of the Paris Surrealists, but soon gave up art. After a long creative break, during which he worked as a wine merchant, he began again in 1942 with naive paintings; his first solo exhibition took place in 1944 at the Galerie René Drouin in Paris. In the early post-war period, he caused a scandal with his "primitive" material paintings, but soon gained international fame, especially in the USA. There he exhibited at the Pierre Matisse Gallery in New York already in 1947.

Dubuffet developed the concept of an anti-intellectual art, which he called Art brut. He also defended this concept in art theory in texts and lectures. In 1949 he published his manifesto L'Art brut préféré aux arts culturels. His early paintings are inspired by the visual vocabulary of children, naive and mentally ill people, who for him are the artists of Art brut. Inspired by the graffiti photographs of Brassaï, Dubuffet explored the theme of the wall and the graffiti carved into it. The "physical-material production process " of the wall and the graffiti was important to him. He therefore tried to recreate the process of the wall's creation on canvas by applying many layers of paint thickly and giving them time to react. Graffiti was even technically reproduced as carvings in the oil paint on the canvas, thus combining trivial and high art, resulting in a positive re-evaluation of graffiti, which has many parallels with the brut style.

At the same time, he experimented intensively with printmaking: woodcut (Ler dla campane, 1948) and lithography (Les murs, 1945). He first worked on the lithographs in the Fernand Mourlot workshop in Paris (Matière et mémoire, 1945) and set up his own studio in 1958; his extensive cycle Les Phénomènes (1958/1959) is outstanding. After 1962 Dubuffet developed his series Hourloupe, cell-like structures limited to the colours red, white, black and blue. In the late 1960s he transferred the graphic elements of the Hourloupe series into sculpture. He created painted rock-like structures made of polyester, large-format open sculptures and partly walk-in labyrinths such as Jardin d'Email (1972/1973) in the Kröller-Müller Museum in Otterlo, Netherlands. In 1959 Jean Dubuffet was a participant in documenta 2, and he also took part in documenta 3 (1964) and documenta 4 (1968) in Kassel.

With Coucou Bazar in 1972, Dubuffet created a total work of art consisting of painting, sculpture, theatre, dance and music. Several costumed figures interact with each other as well as with the stage elements. This spectacle was produced only three times: in New York and Paris in 1973 and in Turin in 1978. The last production was recorded on film. For conservation reasons, however, Coucou Bazar can no longer be performed as a whole today. Two costume figures may still be moved and were on view in the Fondation Beyeler exhibition in 2016.

In 1984 he created a series of works on a black background and in the last year of his life he wrote an autobiography.

His works are represented in numerous international museums; during his lifetime Dubuffet donated large work complexes to the Musée des Arts décoratifs in Paris and the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. His estate is administered by the Fondation Dubuffet in Paris, where you can visit his former studio in 137, rue de Sèvres. In the second seat of the foundation in Périgny-sur-Yerres you can see, among other things, Dubuffet's large walk-in sculpture Closerie Falbala (1,610 m²).

In addition to his art, Dubuffet was influential because of his commitment to Art Brut: the creations of the mentally ill, social outcasts and peculiar people that he collected and promoted. Because of the background of this interest, he also visited Hans Prinzhorn's extensive collection of pictorial works by mentally ill people in Heidelberg. Dubuffet's Art Brut collection is today kept in the Collection de l'Art Brut in Lausanne.

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Jean Philippe Arthur Dubuffet war ein französischer Maler, Bildhauer, Collage- und Aktionskünstler und zählt zu den prominentesten Vertretern der französischen Nachkriegskunst. Dubuffet war auch ein einflussreicher Kunstschriftsteller; so hat er den Begriff Art brut geprägt.

Jean Dubuffet wurde als Sohn einer großbürgerlichen Familie von Weingroßhändlern in Le Havre geboren. Als Schüler belegte er 1916 Abendkurse im Zeichnen an der École des Beaux-Arts in Le Havre; nach dem Abitur 1918 begab er sich nach Paris, um Literatur, Sprache und Musik an der Académie Julian zu studieren. Hier lernte er 1919 Max Jacob kennen. In den zwanziger Jahren malte er im Umkreis der Pariser Surrealisten gegenständliche Kompositionen, gab die Kunst aber bald auf. Nach langer Schaffenspause, in der er als Weinhändler arbeitete, setzte er 1942 erneut mit naiven Gemälden ein; seine erste Einzelausstellung fand 1944 in der Pariser Galerie René Drouin statt. In der frühen Nachkriegszeit erregte er mit seinen „primitiven“ Materialbildern einen Skandal, erlangte aber bald internationale Bekanntheit, insbesondere in den USA. Dort stellte er in der Galerie Pierre Matisse in New York bereits 1947 aus.

Dubuffet entwickelte das Konzept einer antiintellektuellen Kunst, die er mit Art brut bezeichnete. Diese verteidigte er auch kunsttheoretisch in Texten und Vorträgen. 1949 veröffentlichte er sein Manifest L'Art brut préféré aux arts culturels. Seine frühen Gemälde sind vom Bildvokabular von Kindern, Naiven und Geisteskranken inspiriert, die für ihn die Künstler der Art brut sind. Angeregt durch die Graffiti-Fotografien von Brassaï setzte sich Dubuffet mit dem Thema Mauer und den darin eingeritzten Graffiti auseinander. Ihm war hierbei der „körperlich-materiale Herstellungsvorgang“2 der Wand und der Graffiti wichtig. Deshalb versuchte er den Entstehungsprozess der Mauer auf der Leinwand nachzuempfinden, indem er viele Farbschichten dick auftrug und ihnen Zeit zum Reagieren gab. Graffiti vollzog er sogar technisch als Einritzungen in die Ölfarbe auf der Leinwand nach, womit er Trivial- und Hochkunst verband, woraus sich eine positive Neubewertung von Graffiti ergibt, die viele Parallelen mit der Art brut aufweisen.

Er experimentierte parallel intensiv mit Druckgrafik: Holzschnitt (Ler dla campane, 1948) und Lithografie (Les murs, 1945). Die Lithografien erarbeitete er zuerst in der Werkstatt Fernand Mourlot in Paris (Matière et mémoire, 1945), richtete sich 1958 ein eigenes Atelier ein; herausragend ist sein umfangreicher Zyklus Les Phénomènes (1958/1959). Nach 1962 entwickelte Dubuffet seine Serie Hourloupe, zellenartige Strukturen, die sich auf die Farben Rot, Weiß, Schwarz und Blau beschränken. Ende der 1960er Jahre übertrug er die grafischen Elemente der Hourloupe-Serie in die Skulptur. Es entstanden bemalte felsartige Gebilde aus Polyester, großformatige Freiplastiken und teilweise begehbare Labyrinthe wie Jardin d’Email (1972/1973) im Kröller-Müller Museum im niederländischen Otterlo. Im Jahr 1959 war Jean Dubuffet Teilnehmer der documenta 2. Auch an der documenta 3 (1964) und der 4. documenta (1968) in Kassel nahm er teil.

Mit Coucou Bazar schuf Dubuffet 1972 ein Gesamtkunstwerk aus Malerei, Skulptur, Theater, Tanz und Musik. Dabei agieren mehrere kostümierte Figuren miteinander ebenso wie mit den Bühnenelementen. Dieses Spektakel wurde nur dreimal produziert: 1973 in New York und Paris sowie 1978 in Turin. Die letzte Inszenierung wurde in einem Film festgehalten. Coucou Bazar kann heute aus konservatorischen Gründen jedoch nicht mehr als Ganzes aufgeführt werden. Zwei Kostümfiguren dürfen noch bewegt werden und waren 2016 in der Ausstellung der Fondation Beyeler zu sehen.

1984 entstand eine Werkreihe auf schwarzem Hintergrund und im letzten Lebensjahr schrieb er eine Autobiographie.

Seine Werke sind in zahlreichen internationalen Museen vertreten; große Werkkomplexe stiftete Dubuffet zu Lebzeiten dem Musée des Arts décoratifs in Paris und dem Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. Sein Nachlass wird von der Fondation Dubuffet in Paris verwaltet, wo man sein ehemaliges Atelier in 137, rue de Sèvres besuchen kann, im zweiten Sitz der Stiftung in Périgny-sur-Yerres ist u. a. Dubuffets begehbare Großskulptur Closerie Falbala (1.610 m²) zu besichtigen.

Neben seiner Kunst war Dubuffet einflussreich wegen seines Engagements für Art Brut: die Schöpfungen von Geisteskranken, gesellschaftlichen Außenseitern und Sonderlingen, die er sammelte und förderte. Vor dem Hintergrund dieses Interesses besuchte er auch die umfangreiche Sammlung Hans Prinzhorns von Bildwerken psychisch Kranker in Heidelberg. Dubuffets Art-Brut-Sammlung wird heute in der Collection de l’Art Brut in Lausanne verwahrt.