WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Karina Wisniewska is a pianist and painter of Polish-Swiss origin and spent the first years of her life in Italy, Egypt and the USA.

Her father died when she was four years old. After stays in Egypt, the USA and Berlin she moved to Switzerland. Wisniewska received her first piano lessons at the age of five. Three times she was a prize winner of the Swiss Youth Music Competition. From 1983-1986 she studied at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Berne, where she subsequently took courses in a master class. Further studies at the Mozarteum in Salzburg were followed by international concert activity as a soloist and chamber musician from 1992 to 2000.

In addition to ten CD recordings, this included appearances at the International Lucerne Festival, the Vienna Festival, the Berlin Philharmonie, the Baden-Baden Music Festival and the White Nights Festival in St. Petersburg. In 1993 she played the world premiere of Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No. 1 in its original version, followed by its first CD recording in 1994 as a world premiere with the Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Vladimir Fedoseyev.

In 2000 an accident with a pair of scissors put an end to her career as a pianist. From then on Karina Wisniewska devoted herself to painting and successfully exhibited her work in renowned galleries and at international art fairs worldwide.

In spring 2009 her book "Karina Wisniewska: Bewegte Stille - Silent Dynamism" was published by Benteli Verlag. Wisniewska also writes articles for several cultural magazines as a columnist, gives lectures and is a frequent guest on talk shows.

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Karina Wisniewska ist eine Pianistin und Malerin polnisch-schweizerischer Herkunft.

Karina Wisniewska ist die Tochter einer Polin und eines Schweizer Diplomaten. Ihre ersten Lebensjahre verbrachte sie in Italien, Ägypten und den USA. Ihr Vater starb, als sie vier Jahre alt war. Nach Aufenthalten in Ägypten, den USA und Berlin zog sie in die Schweiz. Im Alter von fünf Jahren erhielt Wisniewska erstmals Klavierunterricht. Drei Mal war sie Preisträgerin des Schweizerischen Jugendmusikwettbewerbs. 1983–1986 studierte sie an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Bern; anschliessend absolvierte sie dort Kurse in einer Meisterklasse. Nach weiteren Studien am Mozarteum in Salzburg folgte von 1992 bis 2000 internationale Konzerttätigkeit als Solistin und Kammermusikerin.

Damit verbunden waren neben zehn CD-Aufnahmen unter anderem Auftritte am Internationalen Lucerne Festival, den Wiener Festwochen, in der Berliner Philharmonie, an den Musikfestspielen Baden-Baden sowie am White Nights Festival in Sankt Petersburg. 1993 spielte sie die Uraufführung von Rachmaninows 1. Klavierkonzert in der Originalfassung, 1994 folgte dessen erste Einspielung auf CD als Weltpremiere mit dem Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Wladimir Fedosejew.

Im Jahr 2000 setzte ein Unfall mit einer Schere, der Karriere als Pianistin ein Ende. Fortan widmete sich Karina Wisniewska der Malerei und stellt weltweit erfolgreich in renommierten Galerien sowie an internationalen Kunstmessen aus.

Im Frühjahr 2009 erschien im Benteli Verlag ihr Buch «Karina Wisniewska: Bewegte Stille – Silent Dynamism». Zudem schreibt Wisniewska als Kolumnistin Beiträge bei mehreren Kulturzeitschriften, hält Vorträge und ist häufiger Gast in Talkshows.