WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Kurt Seligmann was a Swiss-American Surrealist painter, graphic artist and writer. Kurt Seligmann was born in Basel as the second child of the furniture dealer Gustav Seligmann and his wife Helene Seligmann-Guggenheim, a relative of the art patron Peggy Guggenheim (1898-1979). After Kurt Seligmann had already taken private art lessons in Basel with the painters Ernst Buchner (1886-1951) and Eugen Rudolf Ammann (1882-1978), he began studying art in Geneva at the École des Beaux-Arts in 1919. There he also met another local art student, Pierre Courthion (1902-1988), who became known as a poet, art critic and art historian and with whom he maintained a lifelong friendship. Another of Seligmann's fellow students was Alberto Giacometti (1901-1966). In February 1920 he had to break off his studies in order to reluctantly work in his parents' furniture shop. In 1927 he succeeded in freeing himself from this obligation. In 1928 he travelled to Florence, where he resumed his artistic training at the Accademia delle Arti. In January 1930 he took courses at the Académie moderne in the class of Fernand Léger (1881-1955), which he abandoned disappointedly after a few weeks. In the course of 1930, Seligmann's artistic development showed greater clarity and stylistic certainty, which was rooted in his intensive study of Arp's work. In October 1930 Seligmann had the opportunity to exhibit his works in the Salon des Surindépendants and thus was able to gain the first recognition of fellow artists. Seligmann re-established contact with Courthion, who had been living in Paris since 1927, and was encouraged by him to continue on the path he had taken.

At the instigation of Jeans Arp, Seligmann became a member of the Parisian artists' association Abstraction-Création at the beginning of 1931, thus overcoming his artistic isolation. Seligmann's paintings from this period show influences from Arp and Miro and bear witness to Seligmann's conflict between the anti-figurative doctrine as represented by Abstraction-Création and figurative Surrealism in order to find his own style. This conflict resulted in Seligmann's attempt, together with the Japanese Taro Okamoto (1911-1996), to proclaim neo-concretism, which, however, was unable to assert itself as an independent movement.

In February 1932 Seligmann exhibited at the Parisian gallery Jeanne Bucher, and in May 1932 various works by Seligmann were shown in Basel on the occasion of the opening of the Kunsthalle. With these exhibitions Seligmann's artistic breakthrough was achieved. During this time Seligman became a member of the Basel Group 33, followed by several exhibitions in France and England. At the end of 1933/beginning of 1934 two portfolios with etchings by Seligman were published by Les chroniques du jour in Paris: first the Protubérances cardiaques with 15 sheets, later the portfolio Les vagabondes héraldiques, also with 15 sheets, each of which was assigned to a poem by Courthion. In November 1934 André Breton (1896-1966), together with Hans Bellmer (1902-1975) and Richard Oelze (1900-1980), admitted Seligmann to the Surrealist movement.

In 1935 further exhibitions followed in Milan, Rome and again in Paris. On November 25, 1935 Seligmann married the six years younger Frenchwoman Arlette Paraf, the niece of the influential art dealer Georges Wildenstein; Max Ernst and Jean Arp appeared as witnesses. At the famous exhibition Exposition Internationale du Surréalisme, which opened on 17 January 1938 in the Galerie des Beaux-Arts in Paris, Seligmann was one of the most prominent artists after Max Ernst and Joan Miró with 13 works on display. On September 2, 1939, one day after the German invasion of Poland, the Seligmann couple left France to emigrate to the USA on the ocean liner Île de France. On September 9, 1939 the Seligmanns arrived in New York.

Already during his trip to Canada in October 1938, Seligmann visited the New York gallery owner Karl Nierendorf (1889-1947), a German art dealer who had already come to the USA in 1936 to examine exhibition possibilities for himself. On September 27, 1939, two and a half weeks after the Seligmanns' arrival in New York, Seligmann's first exhibition in the USA was opened in the rooms of the Nierendorf Gallery. At this time, Seligmann had already distanced himself sharply from Salvador Dalí (1904-1989), who was recognized in the USA as the "supreme surrealist", because of his pro-Nazi statements.

On January 17, 1940, the fourth international surrealism exhibition was opened at the Galeria de Arte in Mexico City with Seligmann's participation; in March of the same year he had a solo exhibition at the New York New School for Social Research. After he had purchased a printing press, Seligmann gave graphic art lessons in New York. Meyer Schapiro (1904-1996), professor of art history at the New School, whom Seligmann met as early as 1939, sent students to Seligmann and recommended him for a position as art teacher at Briarcliff Junior College, 40 km north of New York City on the Hudson River.

In May 1940 the Seligmanns were naturalized by the US immigration authorities, not least because of their solid financial situation. In the same year, the American writer Charles Henri Ford (1913-2002) became aware of Seligmann and gave him the opportunity to publish his essay Terrestrial Sun in the yearbook of the literary journal New Directions in Pose & Poetry, which deals with the anthropocentric concept of hermeticism and thus touches upon occult themes.

In June 1941 André Breton and André Masson (1896-1987) arrived in New York with their families. Seligmann introduced the new arrivals to his gallery owner Nierendorf to give them the opportunity to contribute to their livelihood with their artistic activities. Due to Breton's immobility, the relationship turned out to be very difficult and since March 1943 the friendship between the two was severely disturbed after Seligmann had publicly corrected Breton in a discussion about the Tarot. In 1945, after Breton's return to Paris, there was a final break.

Already during his trip to Canada in October 1938, Seligmann visited the New York gallery owner Karl Nierendorf (1889-1947), a German art dealer who had already come to the USA in 1936 to examine exhibition possibilities for himself. On September 27, 1939, two and a half weeks after the Seligmanns' arrival in New York, Seligmann's first exhibition in the USA was opened in the rooms of the Nierendorf Gallery. At this time, Seligmann had already distanced himself sharply from Salvador Dalí (1904-1989), who was recognized in the USA as the "supreme surrealist", because of his pro-Nazi statements.

On January 17, 1940, the fourth international surrealism exhibition was opened at the Galeria de Arte in Mexico City with Seligmann's participation; in March of the same year he had a solo exhibition at the New York New School for Social Research. After he had purchased a printing press, Seligmann gave graphic art lessons in New York. Meyer Schapiro (1904-1996), professor of art history at the New School, whom Seligmann met as early as 1939, sent students to Seligmann and recommended him for a position as art teacher at Briarcliff Junior College, 40 km north of New York City on the Hudson River.

In May 1940 the Seligmanns were naturalized by the US immigration authorities, not least because of their solid financial situation. In the same year, the American writer Charles Henri Ford (1913-2002) became aware of Seligmann and gave him the opportunity to publish his essay Terrestrial Sun in the yearbook of the literary journal New Directions in Pose & Poetry, which deals with the anthropocentric concept of hermeticism and thus touches upon occult themes.

In June 1941 André Breton and André Masson (1896-1987) arrived in New York with their families. Seligmann introduced the new arrivals to his gallery owner Nierendorf in order to give them the opportunity to contribute to their livelihood with their artistic activities. Due to Breton's immobility, the relationship turned out to be very difficult and since March 1943 the friendship between the two was severely disturbed after Seligmann had publicly corrected Breton in a discussion about the Tarot. In 1945, after Breton's return to Paris, there was a final break.

From 1951 Seligmann took up a teaching position at the New School for Social Research through Schapiro's mediation; from 1953 he gave courses at the Department for Design at Brooklyn College; on his farm in Sugar Laof he offered summer courses in graphic techniques. He continued teaching at Brooklyn College until 1961. In November 1956 Seligmann went on another trip to Paris, which he extended until May 1957; it was his last, although he booked another passage to Europe for the summer of 1958, which he had to cancel for health reasons. In March 1958 Seligmann received notice to quit his studio in Bryant Park, which he finally gave up with a heavy heart at the end of 1959, and since then he has lived only in Sugar Loaf. On 31 March 1958 he suffered a heart attack, which he recovered from after six weeks.

Nevertheless, in June 1958 a planned solo exhibition of Seligmann's work was opened at the Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, which was also shown at the Pennsylvania State University in a slightly modified form. Also in 1958 Seligmann parted ways with his long-time art agent Kirk Askew (1903-1974). With the support of his new agent Otto M. Gerson (1902-1962), Seligmann was given the opportunity again after five years to show his new paintings in a solo exhibition at Fine Arts Associates, Inc. of which Gerson was the managing director.

In April 1961 Seligmann exhibited at the D'Arcy Galleries in New York, a few months after the first Surrealist exhibition in America since 1942 was shown in the same rooms, in which Seligmann was not allowed to participate at Breton's instigation. The exhibition was very extensive and already bore the character of a retrospective honouring of Seligmann's life's work. In November 1961 a delegation from the Whitney Museum of American Art visited Seligmann in Sugar Loaf to select a painting for the forthcoming annual exhibition of contemporary American painting. The choice fell on Fantoche, an oil painting from 1961.

Artworks Kurt Seligmann

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Kurt Seligmann war ein schweizerisch-US-amerikanischer surrealistischer Maler, Graphiker und Schriftsteller.

Kurt Seligmann wurde in Basel als zweites Kind des Möbelhändlers Gustav Seligmann und dessen Frau Helene Seligmann-Guggenheim, einer Verwandten der Kunstmäzenin Peggy Guggenheim (1898–1979), geboren. Noch während seiner Zeit als Schüler am Gymnasium arbeitete Kurt Seligmann in den Jahren 1917/1918 als Aushilfe in einer Basler Druckerei als Kolorist von Glasprojektionsbildern; schon damals begann er mit der Entwicklung einer eigenen Glasmalerei mit farbigen Tuschen, in der er es später zu Meisterschaft bringen sollte. Nachdem Kurt Seligmann bereits in Basel privaten Kunstunterricht bei den Malern Ernst Buchner (1886–1951) und Eugen Rudolf Ammann (1882–1978) genommen hatte, begann er 1919 in Genf an der École des Beaux-Arts das Kunststudium. Dort lernte er auch einen weiteren, ortsansässigen Kunststudenten kennen, Pierre Courthion (1902–1988), der als Lyriker, Kunstkritiker und Kunsthistoriker bekannt wurde und mit dem ihn eine lebenslange Freundschaft verband. Ein weiterer Studienkollege Seligmanns war Alberto Giacometti (1901–1966). Im Februar 1920 musste er sein Studium abbrechen, um widerstrebend im elterlichen Möbelgeschäft mitzuarbeiten. 1927 gelang es ihm, sich von dieser für Verpflichtung zu befreien. 1928 reiste er nach Florenz, wo er an der Accademia delle Arti seine künstlerische Ausbildung wieder aufnahm.

Im Januar 1930 nahm er Kurse an der Académie moderne in der Klasse von Fernand Léger (1881–1955), die er nach wenigen Wochen enttäuscht wieder aufgab. Er wandte sich von dem aus vielen, untereinander zerstrittenen und zersplitterten Gruppen bestehenden Pariser Kunstbetrieb ab und versuchte, seine künstlerischen Äußerungen mit mehr oder weniger unoriginellen kubistisch-naturalistischen Bildern zu belegen. Im Laufe des Jahres 1930 zeichnete sich in der künstlerischen Entwicklung Seligmanns eine größere darstellerische Klarheit und stilistische Sicherheit ab, die in der intensiven Beschäftigung mit dem Werk Arps wurzelte. Im Oktober 1930 hatte Seligmann Gelegenheit, seine Arbeiten im Salon des Surindépendants auszustellen, und konnte damit auch erste Anerkennung von Künstlerkollegen verzeichnen. Mit Courthion, seit 1927 in Paris ansässig, fand Seligmann wieder Kontakt und ließ sich von ihm bestärken, den eingeschlagenen Weg weiter zu verfolgen. Auf Betreiben Jeans Arps wurde Seligmann Anfang 1931 Mitglied in der Pariser Künstlergemeinschaft Abstraction-Création und überwand damit auch seine künstlerische Isoliertheit. Die Bilder Seligmanns aus dieser Zeit zeigen Einflüsse von Arp und Miro und zeugen vom Konflikt Seligmanns, zwischen der antifigurativen Doktrin, wie sie von der Abstraction-Création vertreten wurde, sowie dem figurativen Surrealismus einen eigenen Stil zu finden. Dieser Konflikt mündete im Versuch Seligmanns, gemeinsam mit dem Japaner Taro Okamoto (1911–1996), den Neokonkretismus zu proklamieren, der sich aber nicht als eigenständige Bewegung durchsetzen konnte.

Im Februar 1932 stellte Seligmann in der Pariser Galerie Jeanne Bucher aus, im Mai 1932 wurden in Basel anlässlich der Eröffnung der Kunsthalle neben anderen auch verschiedene Arbeiten Seligmanns gezeigt. Mit diesen Ausstellungen war der künstlerische Durchbruch Seligmanns geschafft. Seligman wurde in dieser Zeit Mitglied der Basler Gruppe 33. Es folgten mehrere Ausstellungsbeteiligungen in Frankreich und England. Ende 1933/Anfang 1934 erschienen im Pariser Verlag Les chroniques du jour zwei Mappen mit Radierungen Seligmanns: zuerst die Protubérances cardiaques mit 15 Blättern, später die Mappe Les vagabondes héraldiques, ebenfalls mit 15 Blättern, die jeweils einem Gedicht von Courthion zugeordnet wurden. Im November 1934 nahm André Breton (1896–1966) Seligmann, gemeinsam mit Hans Bellmer (1902–1975) und Richard Oelze (1900–1980), in die surrealistische Bewegung auf.

1935 folgten weitere Ausstellungen in Mailand, Rom und wieder in Paris. Am 25. November 1935 heiratete Seligmann in Paris die sechs Jahre jüngere Französin Arlette Paraf, die Nichte des einflussreichen Kunsthändlers Georges Wildenstein; als Trauzeugen traten Max Ernst und Jean Arp auf. An der berühmt gewordenen Ausstellung Exposition Internationale du Surréalisme, die am 17. Januar 1938 in der Pariser Galerie des Beaux-Arts eröffnet wurde, war Seligmann mit 13 ausgestellten Werken einer der prominentesten vertretenen Künstler nach Max Ernst und Joan Miró. Am 2. September 1939, einen Tag nach dem Überfall der Deutschen auf Polen, verließ das Ehepaar Seligmann Frankreich, um mit dem Ozeandampfer Île de France in die USA auszuwandern. Am 9. September 1939 kamen die Seligmanns in New York an.

Schon während seiner Kanadareise im Oktober 1938 suchte Seligmann den New Yorker Galeristen Karl Nierendorf (1889–1947) auf, einen deutschen Kunsthändler, der bereits 1936 in die USA kam, um Ausstellungsmöglichkeiten für sich zu prüfen. Am 27. September 1939, zweieinhalb Wochen nach der Ankunft der Seligmanns in New York, wurde die erste USA-Ausstellung Seligmanns in den Räumen der Nierendorf Gallery eröffnet; da sich Seligmann zu dieser Zeit bereits scharf von dem in den USA als „Ober-Surrealist“ anerkannten Salvador Dalí (1904–1989) wegen dessen pro-nazistischer Äußerungen distanziert hatte, wurde Seligmanns Werk von der amerikanischen Kunstkritik nicht als dem Surrealismus zugehörig wahrgenommen.

Am 17. Januar 1940 wurde in der Galeria de Arte in Mexiko-Stadt die vierte internationale Surrealismusausstellung unter Beteiligung Seligmanns eröffnet; im März desselben Jahres hatte er eine Einzelausstellung an der New Yorker New School for Social Research. Nachdem er sich eine Druckerpresse angeschafft hatte, erteilte Seligmann in New York Graphikunterricht. Meyer Schapiro (1904–1996), Professor für Kunstgeschichte an der New School, den Seligmann bereits 1939 kennenlernte, schickte Schüler zu Seligmann und empfahl ihn für einen Stelle als Kunsterzieher am Briarcliff Junior College, 40 km nördlich von New York City am Hudson River.

Im Mai 1940 wurden die Seligmanns von den US-Einwanderungsbehörden, nicht zuletzt aufgrund ihrer soliden Vermögensverhältnisse, eingebürgert. Im selben Jahr wurde der US-amerikanische Schriftsteller Charles Henri Ford (1913–2002) auf Seligmann aufmerksam und gab ihm Gelegenheit, im Jahrbuch der Literaturzeitschrift New Directions in Pose & Poetry seinen Aufsatz Terrestrial Sun zu veröffentlichen, der sich mit dem anthropozentrischen Konzept des Hermetismus beschäftigt und somit okkultistische Themen berührt.

Im Juni 1941 kamen André Breton und André Masson (1896–1987) mit ihren Familien in New York an. Seligmann stellte die Neuankömmlinge seinem Galeristen Nierendorf vor, um ihnen Gelegenheit zu geben, mit ihrer künstlerischen Tätigkeit zu ihrem Lebensunterhalt beizutragen. Aufgrund der Unbeweglichkeit Bretons gestaltete sich die Beziehung sehr schwierig, und seit März 1943 wurde die Freundschaft zwischen den beiden empfindlich gestört, nachdem Seligmann Breton in einer Diskussion über das Tarot öffentlich korrigiert hatte. 1945, nach der Rückkehr Bretons nach Paris, kam es zum endgültigen Bruch.

Schon während seiner Kanadareise im Oktober 1938 suchte Seligmann den New Yorker Galeristen Karl Nierendorf (1889–1947) auf, einen deutschen Kunsthändler, der bereits 1936 in die USA kam, um Ausstellungsmöglichkeiten für sich zu prüfen. Am 27. September 1939, zweieinhalb Wochen nach der Ankunft der Seligmanns in New York, wurde die erste USA-Ausstellung Seligmanns in den Räumen der Nierendorf Gallery eröffnet; da sich Seligmann zu dieser Zeit bereits scharf von dem in den USA als „Ober-Surrealist“ anerkannten Salvador Dalí (1904–1989) wegen dessen pro-nazistischer Äußerungen distanziert hatte, wurde Seligmanns Werk von der amerikanischen Kunstkritik nicht als dem Surrealismus zugehörig wahrgenommen.

Am 17. Januar 1940 wurde in der Galeria de Arte in Mexiko-Stadt die vierte internationale Surrealismusausstellung unter Beteiligung Seligmanns eröffnet; im März desselben Jahres hatte er eine Einzelausstellung an der New Yorker New School for Social Research. Nachdem er sich eine Druckerpresse angeschafft hatte, erteilte Seligmann in New York Graphikunterricht. Meyer Schapiro (1904–1996), Professor für Kunstgeschichte an der New School, den Seligmann bereits 1939 kennenlernte, schickte Schüler zu Seligmann und empfahl ihn für einen Stelle als Kunsterzieher am Briarcliff Junior College, 40 km nördlich von New York City am Hudson River.

Im Mai 1940 wurden die Seligmanns von den US-Einwanderungsbehörden, nicht zuletzt aufgrund ihrer soliden Vermögensverhältnisse, eingebürgert. Im selben Jahr wurde der US-amerikanische Schriftsteller Charles Henri Ford (1913–2002) auf Seligmann aufmerksam und gab ihm Gelegenheit, im Jahrbuch der Literaturzeitschrift New Directions in Pose & Poetry seinen Aufsatz Terrestrial Sun zu veröffentlichen, der sich mit dem anthropozentrischen Konzept des Hermetismus beschäftigt und somit okkultistische Themen berührt.

Im Juni 1941 kamen André Breton und André Masson (1896–1987) mit ihren Familien in New York an. Seligmann stellte die Neuankömmlinge seinem Galeristen Nierendorf vor, um ihnen Gelegenheit zu geben, mit ihrer künstlerischen Tätigkeit zu ihrem Lebensunterhalt beizutragen. Aufgrund der Unbeweglichkeit Bretons gestaltete sich die Beziehung sehr schwierig, und seit März 1943 wurde die Freundschaft zwischen den beiden empfindlich gestört, nachdem Seligmann Breton in einer Diskussion über das Tarot öffentlich korrigiert hatte. 1945, nach der Rückkehr Bretons nach Paris, kam es zum endgültigen Bruch.

Seit 1951 nahm Seligmann auf Vermittlung Schapiros eine Lehrtätigkeit an der New School for Social Research auf, seit 1953 gab er Kurse am Department for Design am Brooklyn College; auf seiner Farm in Sugar Laof bot er Sommerkurse für graphische Techniken an. Die Lehrtätigkeit am Brooklyn College hielt er bis 1961 aufrecht. Im November 1956 begab sich Seligmann nochmal auf eine Reise nach Paris, die er bis Mai 1957 ausdehnte; sie war seine letzte, obwohl er für den Sommer 1958 nochmals eine Passage nach Europa buchte, die er allerdings aus gesundheitlichen Gründen stornieren musste. Im März 1958 erhielt Seligmann die Kündigung für sein Atelier am Bryant Park, das er endgültig Ende 1959 schweren Herzens aufgab, und wohnte seit der Zeit nur noch in Sugar Loaf. Am 31. März 1958 erlitt er einen Herzinfarkt, von dem er nach sechs Wochen genas. Im Juni 1958 wurde trotzdem eine geplante Einzelausstellung Seligmanns im Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, eröffnet, die leicht abgewandelt auch an der Pennsylvania State University gezeigt wurde. Ebenfalls 1958 trennte sich Seligmann von seinem langjährigen Kunstagenten Kirk Askew (1903–1974). Mit Unterstützung seines neuen Agenten Otto M. Gerson (1902–1962) erhielt Seligmann nach fünf Jahren wieder Gelegenheit, in der Fine Arts Associates, Inc., als deren Geschäftsführer Gerson fungierte, in einer Einzelausstellung seine neuen Bilder zu zeigen.

Im April 1961 stellte Seligmann in den D’Arcy Galleries in New York aus, wenige Monate, nachdem in denselben Räumen die erste surrealistische Gesamtschau in Amerika seit 1942 gezeigt wurde, an der Seligmann auf Betreiben Bretons nicht teilnehmen durfte. Die Ausstellung war sehr umfangreich und trug bereits den Charakter einer retrospektiven Ehrung des Lebenswerkes Seligmanns. Im November 1961 besuchte eine Delegation des Whitney Museums of American Art Seligmann in Sugar Loaf, um ein Bild für die bevorstehende Jahresausstellung zeitgenössischer amerikanischer Malerei auszuwählen. Die Wahl fiel auf Fantoche, ein Ölgemälde von 1961.

Kunstwerke Kurt Seligmann