WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Luciano Castelli is a Swiss painter, graphic artist, photographer, sculptor and musician.

Luciano Castelli attended the preliminary course at the School of Applied Arts with Max von Moos, then learned calligraphy and was the key figure of Lucerne's bohemian scene in the early 1970s. Castelli and his flat-sharing community went down in art history with snapshots that the artist Franz Gertsch transformed into monumental photorealistic paintings. Alongside "Luciano Castelli I", "At Luciano's House" and "Marina makes up Luciano", the most important of these was "Medici", a group portrait of "the long-haired freaks around the shrill painter Luciano Castelli", which became the "actual cover picture of Harald Szeemann's documenta 5". Castelli, who showed his first solo exhibition in 1971, was also invited as an artist to documenta 5 - at the age of just 21 - where he presented sculptures of everyday objects such as a shoe or a handkerchief that could also be used as a "Chiloum", a smoke pipe. Castelli became a scene star.

He owed much to Jean-Christophe Ammann, former assistant to Szeemann and director of the Museum of Art Lucerne, who had brought him into contact with Gertsch and brought him to the Documenta. In 1974, Ammann showed androgynous photographs of Castelli in his groundbreaking exhibition "Transformer - Aspects of Travesty" and remarked: "For him, travesty means less a fundamental behaviour between the sexes than the expressive marriage of a masculine realising pole and a female pole marked by availability". The exhibition also featured the surrealist Pierre Molinier, who subsequently corresponded with Castelli and staged him for photographs. While the androgynous self-stylization was influenced by the aesthetics of glam rock, Castelli soon began to explore other roles, ranging from young conservative to film star to sado-masochistic looks.

In 1978 Castelli moved to Berlin and ended up in a circle around the Galerie am Moritzplatz, to which he fitted in with his expressive, fast painting. The painters, who set themselves apart from intellectualism and the austerity of the 1970s avant-garde, went down in art history as the Neue Wilde. Castelli painted community pictures with Rainer Fetting as well as with Fetting’s partner, the artist Salomé. Together with Salomé, he founded the avant-garde punk band Geile Tiere, with whom he sang and played bass. The band was closely associated with the Berlin club Dschungel and gained fame through shrill performances. With Salomé and Fetting, Castelli undertook a tour with performance concerts through France in 1982.

Castelli settled in Paris in 1989 and married Alexandra in 1991, whom he painted again and again. He experimented with a self-made camera obscura and developed his Revolving Paintings. These can be rotated and have no defined upper edge. Depending on how they are hung, viewers see different faces, bodies or city views. The motifs "overlap and penetrate each other, sometimes lying flat or standing on their heads, providing supposedly abstract structures and often only then prove to be objectively bound when the corresponding motif is 'straightened out'", writes Peter K. Wehrli.

Castelli is currently experiencing a growing interest in his work. His photographic self-portraits have been published in a volume by the Zurich art publisher Edition Patrick Frey and shown in a broad survey exhibition in Paris. In 2015, the National Art Museum of China in Beijing will present a major exhibition of his paintings, which will then go to the Contemporary Art Museum in Shanghai. For China, Castelli had motors developed with which the Revolving Paintings slowly rotate 360° around their axis.

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Luciano Castelli ist ein Schweizer Maler, Grafiker, Fotograf, Bildhauer und Musiker.

Luciano Castelli besuchte bei Max von Moos den Vorkurs der Kunstgewerbeschule1, lernte danach Schriftmaler und war anfangs der 1970er Jahre die Schlüsselfigur der Luzerner Bohème. Castelli und seine Wohngemeinschaft gingen in die Kunstgeschichte ein durch Schnappschüsse, die der Künstler Franz Gertsch in monumentale fotorealistische Malereien umsetzte. Neben «Luciano Castelli I», «At Lucianos House» und «Marina schminkt Luciano» war das vor allem «Medici», ein Gruppenporträt «der langhaarigen Freaks um den schrillen Maler Luciano Castelli», das zum «eigentlichen Titelbild von Harald Szeemanns documenta 5» wurde. Castelli, der 1971 seine erste Einzelausstellung zeigte, war – gerade mal 21-jährig – auch als Künstler an der Documenta 5 eingeladen, wo er Skulpturen von Alltagsgegenständen wie einen Schuh oder ein Taschentuch präsentierte, die gleichzeitig als «Chiloum», als Rauchpfeife verwendet werden konnten. Castelli wurde zum Szenestar.

Viel verdankte er dabei Jean-Christophe Ammann, dem ehemaligen Assistenten von Szeemann und Direktor des Kunstmuseums Luzern, welcher ihn mit Gertsch in Kontakt und an die Documenta gebracht hatte. 1974 zeigte Ammann in seiner bahnbrechenden Ausstellung «Transformer – Aspekte der Travestie» androgyne Fotos von Castelli und bemerkte: «Travestie bedeutet ihm weniger ein grundsätzliches Verhalten zwischen den Geschlechtern als vielmehr die expressive Verheiratung eines männlich realisierenden und eines weiblichen, durch Verfügbarkeit gekennzeichneten Pols.» In der Ausstellung war auch der Surrealist Pierre Molinier vertreten, der in der Folge mit Castelli korrespondierte und ihn für Fotos inszenierte. Waren die androgynen Selbststilisierung beeinflusst von der Ästhetik des Glam Rock, begann Castelli bald darauf sich in weiteren Rollen auszuloten, die vom Jungkonservativen über den Filmstar bis zu Sado-Maso-Looks reichten.

1978 zog Castelli nach Berlin und landete im Kreis um die Galerie am Moritzplatz, zu der er mit seiner expressiven, schnellen Malerei passte. Die Maler, die sich vom Intellektualismus und der Strenge der 1970er-Avantgarden abgrenzten, gingen als Neue Wilde in die Kunstgeschichte ein. Mit Rainer Fetting malte Castelli Gemeinschaftsbilder ebenso wie mit dessen Lebensgefährten, dem Künstler Salomé.12 Mit Salomé gründete er die avantgardistische Punkband Geile Tiere, bei der er sang und Bass spielte. Die Band war eng verbunden mit dem Berliner Club Dschungel und erlangten durch schrille Auftritte Bekanntheit. Mit Salomé und Fetting unternahm Castelli 1982 eine Tour mit Performance-Konzerten durch Frankreich.

Castelli liess sich 1989 in Paris nieder und heiratete 1991 Alexandra, die er immer wieder malte. Er experimentiert mit einer selbstgebauten Camera Obscura und entwickelt seine Revolving Paintings. Diese können gedreht werden und haben keine definierte Oberkante. Je nachdem wie sie gehängt werden, sehen Betrachter andere Gesichter, Körper oder Stadtansichten. Die Motive «überlagern und durchdringen sich gegenseitig, liegen manchmal flach oder stehen auf dem Kopf, geben vermeintlich abstrakte Strukturen vor und erweisen sich oftmals erst dann als gegenständlich gebunden, wenn das dazugehörige Motiv ‹geradesteht›», schreibt Peter K. Wehrli.

Zurzeit erlebt Castelli ein wachsendes Interesse an seinem Werk. Seine fotografischen Selbstporträts sind in einem Band des Zürcher Kunstverlags Edition Patrick Frey erschienen und in einer breiten Übersichtsausstellung in Paris gezeigt worden. 2015 präsentiert das National Art Museum of China in Peking eine grosse Ausstellung zum malerischen Werk, die danach ans Contemporary Art Museum in Shanghai geht. Für China liess Castelli Motoren entwickeln, mit denen sich die Revolving Paintings langsam um 360° drehen.