WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Marcelle Cahn was a French painter whose works are classified as purist and geometrical abstract.

Until 1925, Marcelle Cahn was in search of her own style and experimented with the new art movements popular at the time. For example, she created some pictures in the impressionist style after Paul Cézanne, portraits and nude drawings, but also her first geometric-abstract works.

During Marcelle Cahn's studies in Paris, she initially produced works influenced by Cubism. Through the influence of Amédée Ozenfant, her painting developed in the direction of purism, her abstract compositions are reduced to the bare essentials, with large, strict, room-filling colour surfaces with restrained colours. As motifs one finds geometric elements combined with urban motifs, still lifes and everyday objects. Influenced by her teacher Fernand Léger, she also dealt with the relationship between man and technology; ships, airplanes and city motifs appear as motifs.

At the end of the 1930s her hitherto strictly geometric forms were dissolved and colour took on a determining role. In the 50s and 60s Marcelle Cahn moved on to linear, large-scale forms. She also created collages, photo collages, pictures of spheres and sculptures that gained international recognition. Special exhibitions on her work were held in many European cities from the 1950s onwards, including Paris, London, Geneva, Hanover and Stockholm. In 2015, she was honoured in the exhibition Sturm-Frauen at the Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt as one of many female avant-garde painters from the surroundings of the gallery Der Sturm.

Artworks Marcelle Cahn

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Marcelle Cahn war eine französische Malerin, deren Arbeiten dem Purismus und der geometrischen Abstraktion zugeordnet werden.

Bis 1925 war Marcelle Cahn auf der Suche nach ihrem eigenen Stil und experimentierte mit den damals gängigen neuen Kunstströmungen. So sind z. B. einige Bilder im impressionistischen Stil nach Paul Cézanne entstanden, ferner Porträts und Aktzeichnungen, aber auch schon erste geometrisch-abstrakte Arbeiten.

Während Marcelle Cahns Studienzeit in Paris entstanden zunächst kubistisch beeinflusste Arbeiten. Durch den Einfluss von Amédée Ozenfant entwickelt sich ihre Malerei in Richtung Purismus, ihre abstrakten Kompositionen sind auf das Notwendige reduziert, mit großen, strengen, raumfüllenden Farbflächen mit zurückhaltenden Farben. Als Motive findet man geometrische Elemente kombiniert mit städtischen Motiven, Stillleben und Alltagsgegenstände. Beeinflusst durch ihren Lehrer Fernand Léger beschäftigte sie sich auch mit dem Verhältnis von Mensch und Technik; als Motive tauchen Schiffe, Flugzeuge und Stadtmotive auf.

Ende der dreißiger Jahre wurden ihre bisher streng geometrischen Formen gelöster und die Farbe nahm eine bestimmende Rolle ein. In den 50er und 60er Jahren ging Marcelle Cahn zu linearen, großflächigen Formen über. Es entstanden ferner Collagen, Fotocollagen, Sphärenbilder und Skulpturen, die international Anerkennung fanden. Sonderausstellungen zu ihrem Werk fanden ab den 50er Jahren in vielen europäischen Städten statt, darunter Paris, London, Genf, Hannover und Stockholm. 2015 wurde sie in der Ausstellung Sturm-Frauen in der Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt als eine von vielen Malerinnen der Avantgarde um Umfeld der Galerie Der Sturm gewürdigt.

Kunstwerke Marcelle Cahn