WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Robert Müller was a Swiss sculptor. He is one of the most important sculptors of the 20th century and co-founder of the technique of modern iron sculpture.

Robert Müller attended the commercial school in Zurich. After finishing his school education he received his artistic training in the studio of the sculptor Germaine Richier in Zurich. From 1947 he spent two years in Genoa and in 1949 he moved with his family first to Paris and later to Villiers-le-Bel, where he lived and worked until his death.

By the mid-1950s Robert Müller was already enjoying the highest international recognition and reputation. He had a reputation as a Zurich artist of international stature. Robert Müller went down in art history as "Eisen-Müller" because he is considered one of the creators of modern iron sculpture, together with the Swiss sculptors Bernhard Luginbühl and Jean Tinguely.

Between 1956 and 1960 he was represented as an artist at the Venice Biennale, the São Paulo Biennale and the Paris Biennale. In 1959 he participated in the documenta II in Kassel. His works were acquired by important museums and collections, including US museums and collections. On the other hand, his monumental sculpture "Fanfare", which he designed for the courtyard of the Langenthal Gymnasium, commissioned by the Art Commission of the Canton of Berne, was so severely criticised by teachers and the general public in 1968 that the commission was revoked; the sculpture stood in front of the Kunsthaus Zürich for 33 years.

In 1966 he created the sculpture "L'Orgue", his last sculpture made of iron and in his usual technique. After this time he began to work with other possibilities, techniques and materials.

Artworks Robert Müller

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Robert Müller war ein Schweizer Bildhauer. Er zählt zu den bedeutenden Bildhauern des 20. Jahrhunderts und als Mitbegründer der Technik der modernen Eisenplastik.

Robert Müller besuchte die Handelsschule in Zürich. Nach Beendigung seiner Schulausbildung erhielt er seine künstlerische Ausbildung im Atelier der Bildhauerin Germaine Richier in Zürich. Ab dem Jahr 1947 verbrachte er zwei Jahre in Genua und zog im Jahr 1949 mit seiner Familie erst nach Paris, später nach Villiers-le-Bel, wo er bis zu seinem Tod lebte und arbeitete.

Bereits Mitte der 1950er Jahre erhielt Robert Müller international höchste Anerkennung und Reputation. Er hatte den Ruf als Zürcher Künstler internationalen Formats. Robert Müller ging als »Eisen-Müller« in die Kunstgeschichte ein, weil er zusammen mit den Schweizer Bildhauern Bernhard Luginbühl und Jean Tinguely als einer der Erschaffer der modernen Eisenplastik gilt.

In den Jahren von 1956 bis 1960 war er als Künstler auf der Biennale von Venedig, der Biennale von São Paulo und der Biennale von Paris vertreten. 1959 war er Teilnehmer der documenta II in Kassel. Seine Werke wurden von wichtigen Museen und Sammlungen, auch US-amerikanischen Museen und Sammlungen angekauft. Andererseits wurde seine Monumentalplastik »Fanfare«, die er im Auftrag der Kunstkommission des Kantons Bern für den Hof des Gymnasiums Langenthal entwarf, 1968 von Lehrerschaft und Bevölkerung so heftig kritisiert, dass der Auftrag rückgängig gemacht wurde; die Plastik stand 33 Jahre lang vor dem Kunsthaus Zürich.

Im Jahr 1966 schuf er mit der Skulptur »L’Orgue«, seine letzte Plastik aus Eisen und in gewohnter Technik, nach diesem Zeitpunkt begann er mit anderen Möglichkeiten, Techniken und Materialien zu arbeiten.

Kunstwerke Robert Müller