WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Karl Schmidt-Rottluff was a German painter, graphic artist and sculptor. He is regarded as a modern classic and one of the most important representatives of expressionism.

Schmidt's father was the mill owner Friedrich Schmidt. Karl Schmidt was born in the residential building of the mill in Rottluff near Chemnitz (Saxony) and called himself Schmidt-Rottluff since 1905. From 1905 to 1906 he studied architecture at the Technical University of Dresden.

On June 7, 1905, the artists' group Brücke was founded in Dresden by the architecture students Schmidt-Rottluff, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Fritz Bleyl and Erich Heckel. In November the first exhibition of the Brücke followed in an art gallery in Leipzig. In 1907, the Hamburg art historian Rosa Schapire asked to become a passive member. The Schmidt-Rottluff, whom she held in the highest esteem, painted portraits of her in 1911, 1915 and 1919. The painter Max Pechstein, who was the only one in the group with a full academic education, also joined, but was excluded when it turned out that he was also a member of the Berlin Secession. In 1913 the bridge disintegrated.

In 1910 Schmidt-Rottluff participated in the exhibitions of the New Secession in Berlin, in 1912 in the 2nd exhibition of the Blauer Reiter in Munich and in the Sonderbund exhibition in Cologne. In 1914, one year after the "Brücke" was dissolved, he became a member of the Free Secession in Berlin and had his first solo exhibition there. During the First World War he was a reinforcing soldier in Lithuania and Russia from 1915 to 1918.

After the end of the war he married Emy Frisch in 1919. Together with Rosa Schapire and Wilhelm Niemeyer he designed the expressionist publication Die rote Erde and in 1920/21 the magazine for art Kündung.

In the beginning Schmidt-Rottluff's work was still clearly influenced by Impressionism. Northern German and Scandinavian landscapes frequently appear as motifs. In 1911 the painter moved from Dresden to Berlin. This meant that geometric forms took up a larger space in his work, and from 1923 round, curved forms. In 1931 Karl Schmidt-Rottluff was appointed as a member of the Prussian Academy of Arts, but only two years later Max von Schillings forced him to resign. In 1932 he moved to Rumbke am Lebasee in Hinterpommern.

The Blue House of Hanna Bekker vom Rath, Kapellenstr. 11 in Hofheim am Taunus, Schmidt-Rottluff's annual vacation and working domicile from 1932 to 1972 As a member of the Deutscher Künstlerbund since 1927 (from 1928 on the select committee, then also a jury member) Karl Schmidt Rottluff participated in the last DKB annual exhibition in 1936 at the Hamburger Kunstverein. Two oil paintings were shown: Verschneiter Bach and Abend am Bach (1932; 91 × 124 cm). In 1937 Schmidt-Rottluff's works (608 works) were confiscated by German museums as "Degenerate Art", some of them were then shown in the "Degenerate Art" exhibition. During the burning of the paintings on March 20, 1939 in the courtyard of the Berlin main fire station, several of his works were destroyed. In 1941 he was expelled from the professional association and was banned from painting.

In September 1942 Schmidt-Rottluff was a guest of Helmuth James Graf von Moltke at Kreisau Castle in Kreisau in Lower Silesia. There he painted - despite the painting ban imposed on him in 1941 - numerous landscapes, in particular the view over the park and the farmland to Mount Zobten. Only a few of these watercolours, which had been given away to friends, have been preserved, the others were destroyed in 1945. From 1943 to 1946 Schmidt-Rottluff retreated to Chemnitz.6 The Berlin apartment and the Berlin studio were destroyed by bombing, he moved to Chemnitz-Rottluff.

In 1947 he was appointed professor at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Berlin-Charlottenburg. Schmidt-Rottluff was the second chairman of the board of the refounded Deutscher Künstlerbund in 1950. Between 1951 and 1976 he took part in five more annual exhibitions. In 1955 Karl Schmidt-Rottluff was a participant in documenta 1 in Kassel.

In the GDR, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff's works, like those of the other Expressionists, were caught up in the maelstrom of the formalism debate determined by the ideology of Socialist Realism from the end of the 1940s onwards. His paintings were hardly ever bought9 and there were very few exhibitions in the GDR in the decades up to 1982.

After his retirement from the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in 1954, the artist often stayed in Hofheim am Taunus, on Lake Maggiore and on the Baltic Sea.

Emy and Karl Schmidt-Rottluff died in 1975 and 1976 in West Berlin, a few months apart.

Artworks Karl Schmidt-Rottluff

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Karl Schmidt-Rottluff war ein deutscher Maler, Grafiker und Plastiker. Er gilt als ein Klassiker der Moderne und als einer der wichtigsten Vertreter des Expressionismus.

Schmidts Vater war der Mühlenbesitzer Friedrich Schmidt. Karl Schmidt wurde im Wohngebäude der Mühle in Rottluff bei Chemnitz (Sachsen) geboren und nannte sich seit 1905 Schmidt-Rottluff. Von 1905 bis 1906 studierte er Architektur an der Technischen Hochschule Dresden.

Am 7. Juni 1905 wurde die Künstlergruppe Brücke von den Architekturstudenten Schmidt-Rottluff, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Fritz Bleyl und Erich Heckel in Dresden gegründet. Im November folgte die erste Ausstellung der Brücke in einer Kunsthandlung in Leipzig. Im Jahr 1907 bat die Hamburger Kunsthistorikerin Rosa Schapire um Aufnahme als passives Mitglied. Der von ihr am höchsten geschätzte Schmidt-Rottluff malte 1911, 1915 und 1919 Porträts von ihr. Auch der Maler Max Pechstein, der als einziger der Gruppe kunstakademisch voll ausgebildet war, stieß dazu, wurde jedoch ausgeschlossen, als sich herausstellte, dass er zugleich der Berliner Secession angehörte. 1913 löste sich die Brücke auf.

1910 beteiligte Schmidt-Rottluff sich an den Ausstellungen der Neuen Secession in Berlin, 1912 an der 2. Ausstellung des Blauen Reiters in München und an der Sonderbund-Ausstellung in Köln. 1914, ein Jahr nach Auflösung der „Brücke“, wurde er Mitglied der Freien Secession in Berlin und hatte dort seine erste Einzelausstellung. Während des Ersten Weltkrieges war er Armierungssoldat in Litauen und Russland von 1915 bis 1918.

Nach Kriegsende heiratete er 1919 Emy Frisch. Zusammen mit Rosa Schapire und Wilhelm Niemeyer gestaltete er die expressionistische Veröffentlichung Die rote Erde und 1920/21 die Zeitschrift für Kunst Kündung.

Anfangs war Schmidt-Rottluffs Werk noch deutlich vom Impressionismus beeinflusst. Als Motive tauchen häufig norddeutsche und skandinavische Landschaften auf. 1911 zog der Maler von Dresden nach Berlin um. Damit nahmen geometrische Formen in seinem Werk größeren Raum ein, ab 1923 runde, geschwungene Formen. 1931 wurde Karl Schmidt-Rottluff als Mitglied an die Preußische Akademie der Künste berufen, aus der er jedoch bereits zwei Jahre später wieder durch Max von Schillings zum Austritt genötigt wird. Im Jahr 1932 zog er nach Rumbke am Lebasee in Hinterpommern.

Das Blaue Haus von Hanna Bekker vom Rath, Kapellenstr. 11 in Hofheim am Taunus, Schmidt-Rottluffs jährliches Urlaubs- und Arbeitsdomizil von 1932 bis 1972 Als Mitglied des Deutschen Künstlerbundes seit 1927 (ab 1928 im engeren Vorstand, dann auch Jurymitglied) nimmt Karl Schmidt Rottluff an der letzten DKB-Jahresausstellung 1936 im Hamburger Kunstverein teil. Gezeigt wurden zwei Ölgemalde: Verschneiter Bach und Abend am Bach (1932; 91 × 124 cm). Im Jahr 1937 wurden Schmidt-Rottluffs Werke (608 Arbeiten) in den deutschen Museen als „Entartete Kunst“ beschlagnahmt, einige von ihnen wurden dann in der Ausstellung „Entartete Kunst“ gezeigt. Bei der Gemäldeverbrennung am 20. März 1939 im Hof der Berliner Hauptfeuerwache wurden mehrere seiner Werke vernichtet. Im Jahr 1941 wurde er aus dem Berufsverband ausgeschlossen und erhielt Malverbot.

Im September 1942 war Schmidt-Rottluff zu Gast bei Helmuth James Graf von Moltke auf Schloss Kreisau in Kreisau in Niederschlesien. Dort malte er – trotz des 1941 gegen ihn verhängten Malverbots – zahlreiche Landschaften, insbesondere den Blick über den Park und die Ackerflächen zum Berg Zobten. Nur wenige dieser Aquarelle, die an Freunde verschenkt worden waren, sind erhalten geblieben, die übrigen wurden 1945 vernichtet. Von 1943 bis 1946 zog sich Schmidt-Rottluff nach Chemnitz zurück.6 Die Berliner Wohnung und das Berliner Atelier wurden durch Bombardierung zerstört, er zog nach Chemnitz-Rottluff.

1947 wurde er als Professor an die Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Berlin-Charlottenburg berufen. Schmidt-Rottluff war im wiedergegründeten Deutschen Künstlerbund 1950 Zweiter Vorstandsvorsitzender. An dessen Jahresausstellungen nahm er zwischen 1951 und 1976 noch fünfmal teil. Im Jahr 1955 war Karl Schmidt-Rottluff Teilnehmer der documenta 1 in Kassel.

In der DDR gerieten die Werke von Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, wie die der anderen Expressionisten, ab Ende der 1940er Jahre in den Strudel der von der Ideologie des Sozialistischen Realismus bestimmten Formalismus-Debatte. Seine Bilder wurden kaum noch angekauft9 und es gab in den Jahrzehnten bis 1982 nur ganz wenige Ausstellungen in der DDR.

Nach seiner Emeritierung von der Hochschule für Bildende Künste im Jahre 1954 hielt der Künstler sich oft in Hofheim am Taunus, am Lago Maggiore und an der Ostsee auf.

Emy und Karl Schmidt-Rottluff starben 1975 und 1976 im Abstand weniger Monate in West-Berlin.

Kunstwerke Karl Schmidt-Rottluff