WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Daniel Spoerri is a Swiss visual artist, dancer and director of Romanian origin. He is one of the most important representatives of object art, co-founder of the artist group Nouveau Réalisme and is considered the inventor of Eat-Art.

Spoerri studied classical dance and pantomime in Zurich and later in Paris from 1949 to 1954. For some time he was a student of Étienne Decroux. After his return he was engaged as a solo dancer at the Stadttheater Bern, where he staged avant-garde pieces by Eugène Ionesco, Pablo Picasso and Jean Tardieu. During this time Spoerri was already trying his hand at directing short films. In 1957 he worked as assistant director to Gustav Rudolf Sellner at the Landestheater Darmstadt. In Darmstadt a circle of concrete poets formed around Spoerri, Emmett Williams and Claus Bremer.

In 1959 Spoerri moved to Paris, where he soon made the acquaintance of Jean Tinguely, Arman, François Dufrêne and Yves Klein and founded Edition MAT, which published the first multiples. It was in Paris that Spoerri created his first object art and above all his Tableaux pièges (pictures or objects in which a piece of reality is trapped as in a trap). On 27 October 1960 the group Nouveau Réalisme - headed by Pierre Restany - was founded with Spoerri's participation. Other founding members were Jean Tinguely, Arman, François Dufrêne, Raymond Hains, Yves Klein, Jacques de la Villeglé and Martial Raysse. In 1961 Spoerri was represented in the exhibition The Art of Assemblage at the New York Museum of Modern Art. His work Kichka's Breakfast I was subsequently purchased by MoMA. In 1962 he was one of six participants in the exhibition Dylaby in Amsterdam.

In 1963, Spoerri founded the Dorotheanum - non-profit institute for self-disembodiment at the Dorothea Loehr Gallery in Frankfurt am Main and in the same year participated in the FESTUM FLUXORUM FLUXUS at the Staatliche Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. In 1967/68 Spoerri spent a whole year on the Greek island of Symi. In that year he created 25 objects under the title Gastronomisches Tagebuch - 25 objets de magie à la noix.

In 1968 Spoerri founded the Eat-Art Edition and, together with the innkeeper Carlo Schröter (* 1935), opened the Restaurant of the Seven Senses at Burgplatz 19 (corner of Mühlenstraße) in Düsseldorf, which he ran until 1972 and in which, among others, events with Joseph Beuys, Robert Filliou, Dieter Roth, Ben Vautier and Emmett Williams took place. On the ground floor there was the beer and bar and on the first floor was the restaurant. The palindrome signs of André Thomkins hung on the outside facade. In 1970 he opened the EAT-ART-Gallery, together with Hete Hünermann and Carlo Schröter, in which he organized EAT-ART banquets, such as Ultima Cema or Banchetto funebre del Nuovo Realismo. At regular intervals, Spoerri initiated various editions and happenings with the participation of contemporary artists, whose relics were also distributed through the gallery.

In 1978 he was appointed professor for three-dimensional design at the Cologne Werkschulen and taught there until 1982, in between he founded the Musée Sentimental in Cologne. In 1983 he accepted a call to the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich, where he taught until 1989, during which time he also published several cookery books, which, however, actually contained more art than cooking.

Since June 2015, the Dead End sculpture group, a bronze casting of mannequins depicting dead people, victims of crimes against humanity, has been located in the courtyard of the Museum of Lower Austria.

In November 2015 and January 2016, opera director Bruno Berger-Gorski used the sculpture Carrelino by Daniel Spoerri as a dramaturgical link between two Israeli chamber operas in Bonn and Luxembourg. These were staged on the occasion of the German-Israeli Year 2015 and in commemoration of the November pogroms.

Spoerri has lived in Vienna since the beginning of 2007. He has been divorced three times, among others from the German photographer Vera Mercer.

Artworks Daniel Spoerri

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Daniel Spoerri ist ein Schweizer bildender Künstler, Tänzer und Regisseur rumänischer Herkunft. Er ist einer der bedeutendsten Vertreter der Objektkunst, Mitbegründer der Künstlergruppierung Nouveau Réalisme und gilt als Erfinder der Eat-Art.

In Zürich und später in Paris studierte Spoerri von 1949 bis 1954 klassischen Tanz und Pantomime. Einige Zeit war er Schüler von Étienne Decroux. Nach seiner Rückkehr wurde er am Stadttheater Bern als Solotänzer engagiert, wo er Avantgardestücke von Eugène Ionesco, Pablo Picasso und Jean Tardieu inszenierte. Während dieser Zeit versuchte sich Spoerri bereits als Regisseur von Kurzfilmen. 1957 arbeitete er als Regieassistent bei Gustav Rudolf Sellner am Landestheater Darmstadt. In Darmstadt bildete sich um Spoerri, Emmett Williams und Claus Bremer ein Kreis konkreter Dichter.

1959 zog Spoerri nach Paris und machte dort bald Bekanntschaft mit Jean Tinguely, Arman, François Dufrêne und Yves Klein und gründete die Edition MAT, die die ersten Multiples herausgab. In Paris entstand Spoerris erste Objektkunst und vor allem seine Tableaux pièges (dt. Fallenbilder; Bilder bzw. Objekte, in denen wie in einer Falle ein Stück Realität gefangen ist). Am 27. Oktober 1960 wurde unter Mitwirkung Spoerris die Gruppe Nouveau Réalisme – Leitung Pierre Restany – gegründet. Weitere Gründungsmitglieder waren Jean Tinguely, Arman, François Dufrêne, Raymond Hains, Yves Klein, Jacques de la Villeglé und Martial Raysse. 1961 war Spoerri in der Ausstellung The Art of Assemblage im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art vertreten. Seine Arbeit Kichkas Frühstück I (Kichka’s Breakfast I) wurde in der Folge vom MoMA angekauft. 1962 war er einer von sechs Teilnehmern der Ausstellung Dylaby in Amsterdam.

1963 gründete Spoerri in der Galerie Dorothea Loehr in Frankfurt am Main das Dorotheanum – gemeinnütziges Institut für Selbstentleibung und nahm im gleichen Jahr am FESTUM FLUXORUM FLUXUS in der Staatlichen Kunstakademie Düsseldorf teil. 1967/68 verbrachte Spoerri ein ganzes Jahr auf der griechischen Insel Symi. In diesem Jahr entstanden 25 Objekte unter dem Titel Gastronomisches Tagebuch – 25 objets de magie à la noix.

Im Jahr 1968 gründete Spoerri die Eat-Art Edition und eröffnete mit dem Wirt Carlo Schröter (* 1935) das Restaurant der Sieben Sinne am Burgplatz 19 (Ecke Mühlenstraße) in Düsseldorf, das er bis 1972 führte und in dem unter anderem Aktionen mit Joseph Beuys, Robert Filliou, Dieter Roth, Ben Vautier und Emmett Williams stattfanden. Im Erdgeschoss gab es den Bier- und Barbetrieb und im ersten Obergeschoss lag das Restaurant. An der Aussenfassade hingen die Palindrom-Schilder von André Thomkins. 1970 eröffnete er die EAT-ART-Gallery, zusammen mit Hete Hünermann und Carlo Schröter, in der er in der Folgezeit EAT-ART-Bankette veranstaltete, so zum Beispiel Ultima Cema oder Banchetto funebre del Nuovo Realismo. Spoerri initiierte in regelmäßigen Abständen unter Mitwirkung zeitgenössischer Künstler verschiedene Editionen sowie Happenings, deren Relikte auch über die Galerie vertrieben wurden.

1978 wurde er als Professor für Dreidimensionale Gestaltung an die Kölner Werkschulen berufen und lehrte dort bis 1982. Dazwischen gründete er das Musée Sentimental in Köln. 1983 nahm er einen Ruf an die Akademie der bildenden Künste in München an und unterrichtete dort bis 1989. Während dieser Zeit veröffentlichte er auch mehrere Kochbücher, die aber eigentlich doch mehr Kunst als Kochen enthielten.

Seit Juni 2015 liegt im Hof des Museums Niederösterreich die Skulpturengruppe Dead End, ein Bronzeguss nach Schaufensterpuppen, Tote, Opfer von Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit darstellend.

Im November 2015 und Januar 2016 nutzte Opernregisseur Bruno Berger-Gorski die Skulptur Carrelino von Daniel Spoerri als dramaturgische Verbindung zweier israelischer Kammeropern in Bonn und Luxemburg. Diese wurden anlässlich des Deutsch-Israelischen Jahres 2015 und im Gedenken an die November-Pogrome inszeniert.

Seit Anfang 2007 lebt Spoerri in Wien. Er ist dreimal geschieden, unter anderem von der deutschen Fotografin Vera Mercer.

Kunstwerke Daniel Spoerri