WOS Galerie Logo

Biography

Theodoros Stamos was an American painter of Greek origin. His belongs to the to Abstract Expressionism movement.

In 1936 he enrolled at the Peter Stuyvesant High School, a technical college, and began studying art. He was inspired by a sculpture by Jacob Epstein, which was published in a newspaper, so that he drew on it and, together with Simon Kennedy and Joseph Konzal, turned to sculpture. He received a scholarship from the American Artist's School. The following year he met Joseph Solman, a member of the artists' group "The Ten", who introduced him to painting again by showing him works by Milton Avery, Arthur Dove and Marsden Hartley. Three months before graduating, Stamos left Stuyvesant High School. He had realized that sculptural work required more effort, financially and spatially alone he could not cope with it. Subsequently, he was a guest in various studios around 10th Street. It was there that the first serious pictures of the autodidact were created. They show simple but figurative Greek and American landscapes. In 1941 he finally opened a small framing shop in Manhattan, which brought him into contact with other artists such as Arshile Gorky and Fernand Léger. His most lucrative framing commission came from the Galerie Nierendorf, for which he produced numerous Paul Klee pictures. The Wakefield Gallery, run by Betty Parsons, exhibited his works for the first time in 1943, paving the way for him to become an important point of contact for Abstract Expressionism. In that year Stamos met Adolph Gottlieb and Barnett Newman, who were to become important for him. The paintings from this phase are Movement of Plants, Seedling, Composition with Braided Ropes and Ancestral Flows. They contain elements of surrealism as in Max Ernst, Joan Miró or Paul Klee, who is well known for his framing work. Adolph Gottlieb also left deep impressions, which can be recognized in the biomorphic forms. Movement of Plants was shown in the 1945 annual exhibition at the Whitney Museum and found a buyer who, in the course of his collecting passion, collected 32 Stamos paintings, which are now in the Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute in Utica, New York. The first painting acquired by a museum is called Sounds in the Rock, and has been hanging in the New York Museum of Modern Art since 1946. His encounters with Mark Rothko, Kurt Seligmann, and Peggy Guggenheim took place in 1947. On his travels through the United States, he met Mark Tobey, with whom he exchanged paintings. A friendship arose with John Graham. Together with the poet Robert Price he travelled through France, Italy and Greece. Through Christian Zervos he met Constantin Brâncuși, Victor Brauner, Alberto Giacometti, Henri Laurens and Pablo Picasso. He met his fellow countryman Morris Graves, who also loved to travel, in Chartres. Graves had a penchant for Far Eastern culture, which Stamos took over somewhat later. But first he began to collect Art Nouveau objects and furniture. He closed his frame shop in 1948, because on the recommendation of the minimalist sculptor Tony Smith, Stamos began teaching at Heartley Settlement House in 1949. He taught there for four years. He also taught art at the famous progressive Black Mountain College in North Carolina, where among his students was the painter Kenneth Noland, who emulated his style. Here he also met the leading art critic of Abstract Expressionism, Clement Greenberg. Around 1950 Stamos began painting his Tea House series, in which he incorporated East Asian elements. At this time, he joined the artists' group "The Irascibles", was by far their youngest member and was very interested in the art of his colleagues who were inclined towards Surrealism. In 1951 he turned to color field painting. He received a scholarship from the Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation. On Long Island he had a house built according to the plans of Tony Smith.

In the mid-1950s, he accepted various teaching positions, for example at the Chicago Art Institute and the Art Student's League in New York. The year 1954 was marked by his lecture at the Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C., on the subject of "Why Nature in Art?", which became famous in the professional world, and the death of his close friend, the poet Robert Price, for whose new edition he produced illustrations in 1956. In the same year he was awarded one of the prizes of the National Institute of Arts and Letters and in 1961 at the 6th Tokyo Internationale the Mainchini Newspaper Prize.

In 1962 Stamos started his series called Sun-Boxes. The first painting of the series is Very Low Sun-Box, painted with acrylic and oil paint on canvas. The first painting of the Transparent Sun-Boxes series followed in 1967 and the Cheops Sun-Boxes series in 1969. In 1966 he gave a guest lecture at Columbia University, School of Fine Arts in New York and the following year he was granted the right of residence as the third artist at Brandeis University in Massachusetts as "Artist-in-Residence". He was also awarded the National Arts Foundation Award. His contact with Mark Rothko of the Irascibles became more intense during this time and neither of them had any idea that four years later it would have fatal consequences. In 1969 Stamos completed a huge work for the entrance hall of an office building in Manhattan. He soon began a new series of paintings, which he called the Infinity Field Series (sometimes with the addition of a locality, for example, Infinity Field Jerusalem Series), which extended the previous rectangular representation from the "box" depicted to the edge of the canvas.

After Rothko's suicide, Stamos, who had been designated by Rothko as one of three executors of the estate, became entangled in the dubious machinations of another executor. The two Rothko children (20 and 7 years old) went to court in 1971 for selling off their father's works. Stamos lost his house and his reputation through the trial. Before the trial he had been in Greece for the second time, but now he bought a house on Lefkada, where he found new inspiration while walking on the sea. In 1977, he gave up his last remaining teaching position to travel to inspire his creativity. In 1983 he felt slandered by a BBC documentary on the Rothko case, but his lawsuit was futile and he withdrew it. At the same time, a small group, mainly Europeans, came together under the name "The Circle of Friends of Theodoros Stamos" to try to get their favourite artist out of the shadows. In 1994 Stamos was elected a member ("NA") of the National Academy of Design. After suffering from a chronic lung disease, Theodoros Stamos died on February 2, 1997, in a hospital in the western Greek city of Ioannina.

Artworks Theodoros Stamos

WOS Galerie Logo

Biographie

Theodoros Stamos war ein US-amerikanischer Maler griechischer Herkunft. Seine Werke werden dem Abstrakten Expressionismus zugeordnet.

1936 schrieb er sich an der Peter Stuyvesant Highschool, einer Fachhochschule, ein und begann ein Kunststudium. Eine in einer Zeitung abgebildete Skulptur von Jacob Epstein inspirierte ihn, sodass er diese abzeichnete und sich gemeinsam mit Simon Kennedy und Joseph Konzal auf die Bildhauerkunst verlegte. Er erhielt ein Stipendium von der American Artist's School. Im folgenden Jahr traf er mit Joseph Solman, einem Mitglied der Künstlergruppe „The Ten“ zusammen, der ihm die Malerei wieder näher brachte, indem er ihm Werke von Milton Avery, Arthur Dove und Marsden Hartley zeigte. Drei Monate vor dem Graduiertenabschluss ging Stamos von der Stuyvesant Highschool ab. Er hatte erkannt, dass der Aufwand bei bildhauerischen Arbeiten größer war, schon allein finanziell und räumlich konnte er dies nicht stemmen. In der Folge war er Gast in verschiedenen Ateliers rund um die 10th Street. Dort entstanden die ersten ernst zu nehmenden Bilder des Autodidakten. Sie zeigen schlicht gehaltene, aber figürliche, griechische und amerikanische Landschaften. Seinen Lebensunterhalt bestritt er als Blumenhändler und Buchverkäufer.m 1941 eröffnete er schließlich einen kleinen Einrahmungsladen in Manhattan, der ihm Kontakte zu anderen Künstlern wie Arshile Gorky oder Fernand Léger einbrachte. Sein einträglichster Rahmungsauftrag kam von der Galerie Nierendorf, für die er zahlreiche Paul-Klee-Bilder herrichtete. Die von Betty Parsons betriebene Wakefield Gallery stellte 1943 seine Werke erstmals aus und ebnete damit ihren Weg zur bedeutenden Anlaufstelle für den Abstrakten Expressionismus. Stamos traf in diesem Jahr mit den für ihn noch wichtig werden sollenden Adolph Gottlieb und Barnett Newman zusammen. Die Bilder aus dieser Phase sind Movement of Plants (dt.: Bewegung der Pflanzen), Seedling, Composition with Braided Ropes und Ancestrial Flows. Sie enthalten Elemente des Surrealismus wie bei Max Ernst, Joan Miró oder auch dem ihm durch seine Einrahmtätigkeit bestens bekannten Paul Klee. Ebenso hinterließ Adolph Gottlieb tiefe Eindrücke, zu erkennen in den biomorphen Formen. Movement of Plants wurde in der Jahresausstellung 1945 des Whitney Museums gezeigt und fand einen Käufer, der im Laufe seiner Sammelleidenschaft 32 Stamos-Bilder zusammentrug, die sich heute im Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute in Utica, New York, befinden. Das erste von einem Museum erworbene Bild heißt in deutscher Übersetzung Klänge im Felsen und hängt seit 1946 im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art. Ins Jahr 1947 fielen die Begegnungen mit Mark Rothko, Kurt Seligmann und Peggy Guggenheim. Auf seinen Reisen durch die Vereinigten Staaten lernte er Mark Tobey kennen, mit dem er Bilder tauschte. Eine Freundschaft ergab sich mit John Graham. Gemeinsam mit dem Dichter Robert Price bereiste er Frankreich, Italien und Griechenland. Durch Christian Zervos lernte er Constantin Brâncuși, Victor Brauner, Alberto Giacometti, Henri Laurens und Pablo Picasso kennen. Seinen ebenfalls gerne reisenden Landsmann Morris Graves traf er in Chartres. Dieser war der fernöstlichen Kultur zugeneigt, was Stamos etwas später übernahm. Zunächst begann er aber Objekte und Möbel des Art Nouveau zu sammeln. Seinen Rahmenladen schloss er 1948, denn auf Empfehlung des minimalistischen Bildhauers Tony Smith trat Stamos 1949 eine Lehrtätigkeit am Heartley Settlement House an. Vier Jahre unterrichtete er dort. Zudem erteilte er Kunstunterricht am berühmten progressiv ausgerichteten Black Mountain College in North Carolina, wo sich unter seinen Studenten der ihm stilistisch nacheifernde Maler Kenneth Noland befand. Hier lernte er auch den führenden Kunstkritiker des Abstrakten Expressionismus, Clement Greenberg, kennen. Ungefähr 1950 begann Stamos seine Tea-House-Serie zu malen, worin er ostasiatische Elemente verarbeitete. Er trat zu dieser Zeit der Künstlergruppe „The Irascibles“ bei, war mit Abstand deren jüngstes Mitglied und beschäftigte sich sehr mit der Kunst seiner Kollegen, die dem Surrealismus zugeneigt waren. 1951 wandte er sich der Farbfeldmalerei zu. Er erhielt ein Stipendium der Louis-Comfort-Tiffany-Stiftung. Auf Long Island ließ er ein Haus nach den Plänen von Tony Smith errichten.

Mitte der 1950er Jahre nahm er verschiedene Lehraufträge an, zum Beispiel am Chicago Art Institute und an der Art Student's League in New York. Das Jahr 1954 war geprägt durch seine an der Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C., gehaltene Vorlesung zu dem Thema „Warum Natur in der Kunst?“, die in der Fachwelt berühmt wurde, und dem Tod seines engen Freundes, dem Dichter Robert Price, für dessen Neuherausgabe er 1956 Illustrationen anfertigte. Im selben Jahr wurde ihm einer der Preise des National Institute of Arts and Letters zuerkannt und 1961 auf der 6. Tokyo Internationale der Mainchini-Newspaper-Preis.

1962 startete Stamos seine Serie namens Sun-Boxes. Erstes Bild der Reihe ist Very Low Sun-Box, gemalt mit Acryl- und Ölfarbe auf Leinwand. 1967 folgte das erste Bild der Transparent Sun-Boxes- und 1969 das der Cheops Sun-Boxes-Serie. 1966 hielt er eine Gastvorlesung an der Columbia University, School of Fine Arts in New York und im Jahr darauf gewährte man ihm als dritten Künstler an der Brandeis University in Massachusetts als „Artist-in-Residence“ das Wohnrecht. Daneben wurde er mit dem National Arts Foundation Award ausgezeichnet. Sein Kontakt zu Mark Rothko von den Irascibles wurde in dieser Zeit intensiver und keiner von beiden ahnte, dass er vier Jahre später verhängnisvolle Auswirkungen haben würde. 1969 vollendete Stamos ein riesiges Werk für die Eingangshalle eines Bürogebäudes in Manhattan. Bald begann er eine neue Bilderserie, die er Infinity Field Series (teilweise mit dem Zusatz einer Örtlichkeit, zum Beispiel Infinity Field Jerusalem Series) nannte, welche die bisherige Rechteckdarstellung von der abgebildeten „Box“ zum Leinwandrand hin ausdehnte.

Nach Rothkos Selbstmord wurde Stamos, der von Rothko als einer von drei Nachlassverwaltern bestimmt worden war, in die dubiosen Machenschaften eines anderen Nachlassverwalters verstrickt. Die beiden Rothko-Kinder (20 und 7 Jahre alt) zogen 1971 wegen des Verscherbelns von Werken ihres Vaters vor Gericht. Stamos verlor durch den Prozess sein Haus und sein Ansehen. Vor dem Prozess war er zum zweiten Mal in Griechenland gewesen, nun kaufte er ein Haus auf Lefkada, wo er bei Meeresspaziergängen neue Inspirationen fand. 1977 gab er seine letzte noch bestehende Dozententätigkeit auf, um reisend seine Kreativität zu begflügeln. 1983 fühlte er sich durch eine BBC-Dokumentation zum Fall Rothko verleumdet, seine Klage war aber aussichtslos, sodass er sie zurückzog. Parallel dazu fand ein kleines Grüppchen, vornehmlich Europäer, zusammen, die sich unter der Bezeichnung „The Circle of Friends of Theodoros Stamos“ vornahmen, ihren favorisierten Künstler aus der Versenkung zu holen. 1994 wurde Stamos zum Mitglied („NA“) der National Academy of Design gewählt. Nach einem chronischen Lungenleiden starb Theodoros Stamos am 2. Februar 1997 im Krankenhaus der westgriechischen Stadt Ioannina.

Kunstwerke Theodoros Stamos